You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: America

in #music6 years ago

When I heard the song I thought that I knew the band somehow, but it was really just from a cover by the Danish Cowpunk band, Disneyland After Dark.

I do not think you can say that anti-Americanism made Europeans stop listening to music from the US. Since WWII there has been US music all over the place. (I think that the Brits took over pop since the Beatles though).

But maybe the country and folk genres was under-represented. In Denmark it has always been a bit hard for people to dig the sentimentalist part of US culture and I think this might be true also for other Europeans. It does not really blend well with our demand for self-irony. The above mentioned band is a good example. They just had to blend in some silliness.

Sort:  

"In Denmark it has always been a bit hard for people to dig the sentimentalist part of US culture and I think this might be true also for other Europeans. It does not really blend well with our demand for self-irony."

;-) You demand self-irony -- your wish is my command


20 Cheesiest Eurovision Songs

As for American sentimentality, this is how an American with unmistakable talent adds a little silliness while keeping it real.

Hahaha, I think they forgot this 1978 winner from Denmark.

OMG I think this art is a depiction of that group's album being burned ;-) Ironically, the only time anyone ever danced to their music.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67701.44
ETH 3730.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69