The Daily Solo Exercise Challenge (Bass Solo over Cm9 - G7alt Groove)

in #music6 years ago

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Hello Steemians!

Today I recorded a solo on my bass that I'd love to share with you. This session form part of my daily practice and is not whatsoever a solo that I've think thoroughly. 

I like to work on my ideas in a fresh manner, go along with the music and try to apply different phrases, modes, scales, rhythm patterns and techniques in a conscious way. Therefore, I'd always start with a simple two or three chord progression and come up with some melodic patterns on the fly. Then, and only then, I'll start to study serious solos or longer chord progressions.

This is a good daily practice so when you actually want to create and work a solo consciously, you'd think more musically, so to speak, instead of trying to decipher intricate harmony dissonances that can be very frustrating even for those who are very good at harmony. 

So, The Daily Solo Exercise Challenge consist into pick one of the 30 keys (Yes I said thirty: 15 Major + 15 Minor, we could debate this statement on the comments, just remember to be respectful all the time when you express your point of view) and just find a simple chord progression in that key and get some melodic ideas down. Stick to one, two or three notes and then develop that trying to follow the music and not the theory. 

Well, two more comments: 

(1) FYI, I'm pretty off shape these days because I'm currently playing injured, I got some serious De Quervain's Tenosynovitis on my right hand by lifting some stuff in the wrong manner.  I'm working on it but I apologized for not being at my best shape. I'm working on it tho. 

(2) This is my first post in English, I'm trying to have a bilingual blog. So if you speak Spanish, don't forget to check my other posts that range from music and poetry to political analysis and life experiences. 

Thanks for watching and Cheers!




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68539.09
ETH 3904.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62