Kid Pistola "Underground Rapstar lifestyle"

in #music6 years ago

Being real, the lifestyle is one of hip-hop’s heavier characteristics, so I’m just gonna let you know guys how music has been complementing my life since I was young.

I use to have this latin hip-hop type of band circa 2013, which got great reviews from the media and somehow me and the band got a bit popular around Mexico city, I guess part of my job is doing this media thing and I’m actually really use to this now, but before it was kind of crazy. I used to go to concerts and some kiddos would ask me for pictures all the time, actually fanaticism is something highly addictive here in Mexico. So I just got into random pictures with fans, then radio interviews and then TV promos also came later, so my friend José, who is my actual crew sidekick and a Mexican radiostar, gave me all kinds of advice about how to express myself and how to talk about my music and actually, sell it, which I really appreciate. Still, I wont lie— it feels weird to do it every time.

I still remember reading e-mails from young fans asking me if I was rich, HAHAHAHA, just because I was in some freakin’ tv shows. Well… HELL NO!, Definitely this career can earn you lots of money, but the strategy has to be different, at least in my case. I had to learn before I can earn, so money is not one of the biggest motivations for me to make music right now.

Screen Shot 2018-01-15 at 2.42.03 PM.png

This is me moving to my new apartment in Mexico, where i just had a table, and some music gear. (So definitely not RICH)

In the lyrics of my song “Hueva” (I will show you how to link directly to it) I try to narrate a fiction version of how it is waking up after giving a cool show out there. I wrote some paragraphs about how funny it is to have one gig night where everyone knows you, everyone tells you your awesome, girls talk to you, cool musicians get around, you drink, you party, and the next morning everything goes back to normal. You still have to wash your dishes, still have to pick your girlfriend’s dog’s poop, and you still have to go back to the studio to create more. The thing is that here in Mexico we have a really low average of education so some people just think everyone that is on a stage or TV or radio is rich. I’m not even kidding— thinking about it is FUNNY!

Some of those rapstar moments have been epic. Super cool. I remember these guys inviting me to a Mexican Cantina just to catch up and have few drinks, but after some time the waiter came with a mezcal shot in his hand and told me that it was a gift. I was fucking surprised. Seconds after, I looked up, and this guy at the bar just nodded his head towards me. I screamed “SALUD!!” in a really loud way, and then one of my songs started playing. I was like WTF, the waiter told me that guy was the owner and that he loves my music. Everyone at the table was like a bit shocked and we started laughing. It was pretty cool.

Being a producer in Mexico has lots of good and bad. Something I love is the variety of forums and musicians that are around. Our culture and our slang reflects a lot onto music and it’s so beautiful.

But even though are a country with lots of strong feelings and some cool projects reflect them in a amazing ways, some bad things around here stem from the amount of money you can earn, the radio, education level, the audience (it’s true!). And yes I know everywhere is like that. But actually, I’m not sure—in places like Sweden you can register your artistic project into a government program and automatically you are gonna be earning 300€, which is great.

Artistic pieces are powered on the stimulation they feel from their surroundings and I have to say, sometimes living here in Mexico brings in a lot of intellectual pollution. (an example maybe, or else it doesn’t make sense to say this)

Every morning I make a to-do list for the day while I drink my EXTRA HOT COFFEE. I love and hate the challenge that is everyday: reaching the balance between being creative, being responsible, being a friend, being true, earning money, being a hippie, smoking weed, being the best rapper, being the best producer, and being unique. It’s already NASA approved that the best pieces of art are created from the mud, from nothing, from problems, without yang there’s no ying.

I love my life and I love being normal, but some rapstar magic dust wouldn’t hurt.

Paz.

"HUEVA"

Sort:  

Hola @kidpistola, upv0t3
Este es un servicio gratuito para nuevos usuarios de steemit, para apoyarlos y motivarlos a seguir generando contenido de valor para la comunidad.
<3 Este es un corazón, o un helado, tu eliges .

: )


N0. R4ND0M:
5767 4635 4830 8766
1939 2146 2549 2054
3549 9618 9467 5333
2112 6033 9988 3918

Congratulations @kidpistola! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kidpistola! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 70976.53
ETH 3850.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48