Miscounted the number of videos I had before leaving town, so this post is about artists that made me want to become a guitarist, and some of what I been vibing lately

in #music6 years ago

I love classical and hiphop and other stuff too. But guitar based songs hold a special place in my head. I starting learning guitar when finishing highschool to help me create some identity and other stuff maybe. I know I usually post learning guitar resources, but don't have a guitar with me on my trip so have to instead talk about myself I guess.

Below are some of my favorite musicians and songs of theirs. All but the last two songs were formative to me when I first started playing. Lately, been listening a lot to the Pixies and Cure, their feel just agrees with me and my perspective at this time of my life. And one of my buddies who isnt around anymore was a big fan so perhaps I like to remember him and the freedom of youth with those two.

Muddy Waters "Mannish Boy"

Huge fan of Chicago electric blues. I even was a jackass and got vanity plates for a few years that were "MNSHBY" that my buddies always made fun of me for saying mans baby and ship like that. In the few years I had that plate only one person said Mannish Boy to me and got it.

Jimi Hendrix, "Freedom"

Love me some Hendrix, also would add Ritchie Blackmore's Man on a Silver Mountain and Frank Marino, and Santana for some amazing guitar. Steve Vai is cool to but a little to heavy for the kinda chill I'm usually looking fer. My favorite Hendrix song is probably "I don't live today" because I keep delaying living my life.

Frank Zappa, "Joe's Garage"


Love Zappa, really enjoyed Frank's son's cover of Joe's Garage when I had enhanced my perspective and was intoxicated. He closed the show with Flashing Red and Blue lights, and the Joes Garage Version where they ramble about a kid messing up his life and having to stick closer to church oriented social activities. Zappa also tried to counteract facist Tipper Gore's attempts to unfree speech.

Ten Years After "I'd Love to Change the World"

Love me some Alvin Lee, this song talks to me about the angst of the world and not knowing what to do to change a world run amok.


Bob Marley "Redemption Song"


This is a great song about justice. Always love chilling to Bob, whether the tide is high or low no matter how many chances are tomorrow.


The Pixies "Indie Cindy"


This is one of my favorite music videos of all time, so heavy having that lady and guy waste that other guy. And rocking song, Pixies are still great, gotta see them live someday.

The Cure Awesome Concert in Appledorn


I love this concert, really wish I could have been there. Love The CURE, FIRE IN CAIRO.

Sort:  

Most of these guitarists have been hugely inspirational for me too. There is some great music being produced today but the golden guitar era is gone and largely replaced (in the mainsteam) by computer generated sounds. There are however still many great exponents of the guitar but unfortunately their audience is getting smaller. Nice post!

You got a 0.88% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @learnguitar!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 26.87% upvote from thanks to: @learnguitar.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.050 SBD|STEEM to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

This post has received gratitude of 3.28 % from @appreciator thanks to: @learnguitar.

You got a 1.06% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @learnguitar!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Release the Kraken! You got a 11.67% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @learnguitar!

You got a 6.76% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @learnguitar!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 41.90% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @learnguitar!

You got a 15.90% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @learnguitar!

Amazing post!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71