Music Monday: My Musical Heroines

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Alice Phoebe Lou busking in Mauerpark, Berlin




Inspired by @riverflows Music Monday post I decided to make a post myself.

I have always loved the music of many female singers, especially great performers like Janis Joplin, Grace Slick, Patty Smith, Poly Styrene (X-Ray Spex), Pauline Black (The Selecter), Sandra Nasic (Guano Apes), but there are also treasures to be found among younger female artists which might not be so well known internationally but whose music gives me great joy as well.
So here is my selection of three songs.


Alice Phoebe Lou

I like to start with her, because I guess she´s the youngest of the lot and the song I chose is an homage to Germany´s Maximum City, the one and only Berlin.
Alice came from South Africa to Berlin at quite a young age and started her career by busking. She still does it occasionally and I also like that she never surrendered to big music business but keeps control over all her productions, thereby guaranteeing her artistic freedom. Her voice is clear like a mountain creek and sharp as a razor blade, quite some power for such a small person.

Berlin Blues Song



Hempress Sativa

When di lioness roar no dog bark!
True Reggae Royalty, always carrying herself in a very dignified way, her flow is so intricately orchestrated, she´s the greatest MC the King created. 😎
Though there are many great videos of her on Youtube I chose this one for its raw power and the great cooperation with master wizzard Paolo Baldini, the living proof that white men can dig Dub.

Boom (Wah Da Da Deng)



Ana Tijoux (Feat. Shadia Mansour)

And finally you even get two for the prize of one. 😍
French-Chilean Ana Tijoux and British-Palestinian Shadia Mansour!

I just let Ana herself explain a bit about the song:
‘Somos Sur’ is about the importance of resistance, not only in Chile, but around the world. Global resistance movements, whether in Latin America, Africa or the Middle East, are fighting against the same patterns of violence that have repeated themselves throughout history. Which means many of these groups share a similar set of demands. We are asking for a free Palestine just like we’re asking for an independent Wallmapu in Chile, without police control.

The fusion of colorful Mapuche dance and costumes with Palestinian music and dance and Rap in Spanish and Arabic plus the political message make this one a true work of art.

Somos Sur


Sort:  

Tatiana and Alecia keys are my music heroines.

They sing and play well.

I wish I had the means to do so too.

Hey that music is great, I'm having to many issues finding some good music on Youtube, I feel the algorithm it's broken for music.

Thanks.

I absolutely love Alice Phoebe Lou and Hempress Sativa!! There's a lot of great woman artists out there that's for sure. Hmmm, I will have to think of one for you - I did write about a few woman artists on a previous Music Monday post of mine - Sister Nancy was one I think, love a female MC. That Ana Tijoux one is fabulous - thanks for the introduction! I'm looking forward to more music mondays with you, and I'll think of a tune that I'll come back and drop later xxx So glad you decided to do your own post!

In western music my all time favorites are Cher and Celine Dion, I believe they are legends, such beautiful music they have given. I have not heard of these names though, but I am sure they must be very good.

I think they are very good, but everybody has their own taste and preferences, and what sounds great to one person might be just terrible noise to another person.
As an adolescent I had the classic fight with my father over the music I was listening to (Deep Purple for example) and he quite bluntly told me to shut it off, something modern parents won´t do nowadays, I guess.

Congratulations @likedeeler! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87