COVER "She Used To Be Mine" from Waitress The Musical!

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Hello everyone!

I bring you another Musical Theatre cover. As some of you know I'm a big fan of "Waitress The Musical", so I decided to record this song, which is definitely one of my favourites from the show.

If you want to know a bit more about this musical, like who wrote the book and music, or learn more about the characters, check the first part of my Broadway Enthusiast Catalog.

This song is sung by one of my contemporary Broadway idols: Jessie Mueller.


Source:

There she is playing the part of Jenna from 2014 to 2016. I like to call her a vocal chameleon because she can use her voice in so many different ways, which obviously plays a huge part in her characterisation work. She can use her legit voice, belt like a queen, use her mixed voice, even characterise her voice... and transit between those fluently and smoothly. She is amazing.

Soon I'll be talking to you about other musicals on my Broadway Enthusiast Catalog, especially one I've been OBSESSING over lately, even though it opened Off Broadway on 2013... yeah, I'm a bit behind on my hype.

Hope you like my rendition of the song and let me know what you think!

Here's the lyrics! In case you'd like to sing along.

It's not simple to say
That most days I don't recognize me
That these shoes and this apron
That place and its patrons
Have taken more than I gave them
It's not easy to know
I'm not anything like I used be, although it's true
I was never attention's sweet center
I still remember that girl

She's imperfect, but she tries
She is good, but she lies
She is hard on herself
She is broken and won't ask for help
She is messy, but she's kind
She is lonely most of the time
She is all of this mixed up and baked in a beautiful pie
She is gone, but she used to be mine

It's not what I asked for
Sometimes life just slips in through a back door
And carves out a person and makes you believe it's all true
And now I've got you
And you're not what I asked for
If I'm honest, I know I would give it all back
For a chance to start over and rewrite an ending or two
For the girl that I knew

Who'll be reckless, just enough
Who'll get hurt, but who learns how to toughen up
When she's bruised and gets used by a man who can't love
And then she'll get stuck
And be scared of the life that's inside her
Growing stronger each day 'til it finally reminds her
To fight just a little, to bring back the fire in her eyes
That's been gone, but used to be mine

Used to be mine
She is messy, but she's kind
She is lonely most of the time
She is all of this mixed up and baked in a beautiful pie
She is gone, but she used to be mine

separator2.jpg

Check my other musica posts:

I Don't Know My Name - Grace VanderWaal
Take Me To Church (Audio) - A Hozier cover
Caramba - Venezuelan song by Otilio Galíndez
My Immortal - Evanescence
Numb - Linkin Park
If I Didn't Know Better (Audio) - The Civil Wars
There Are Worst Things I Could Do - Grease The Musical
Don't Speak - No Doubt
Roxanne (Audio) - The Police
Ain't No Sunshine - Bill Withers
Maybe This Time - Cabaret The Musical
What Baking Can Do - Waitress The Musical
I Wanna Hold Your Hand (Audio) - The Beatles

Thank you for listening!

Alicia xx


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Beautiful. I love Sara Bareilles also.

Thank you! Yesss, she's amazing.

Thank you, lilixblack. Upvoted and resteemed!

@ArtTurtle is an upvote bot run by @Artopium dedicated to upvoting your art, music, fashion, video and books. Find out how you can get an upvote for every creative post you make by visitng @ArtTurtle and reading the latest report.

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30