The making of an album: PRAYER PASSWORD PRODUCTION DAY TWO.

in #music6 years ago (edited)

The making of an album: PRAYER PASSWORD PRODUCTION DAY TWO.

Fixing stuff to incorporate it to the production chain and active production day #2.

Today, the MPC1000.

mpc1000 from akai.png

Each time we talk to a friend, being a musician, we get news that some one is selling a X or Y instrument or production tool. This time around, a beat up MPC1000 came to my hands. It's like 60% usable, so I had that itch to scratch, and without ever before opening a MPC, I got down to it.

open mpc 01.jpg

This is how the MPC1000 looks without all the plates, and the Pad Plate (which has a specific name I can't remember now) with the side plates by its side.

I did some dusting, checked out for burned parts, took out the Hard Disk Drive, and placed the case back on, and shelved it. This is gonna require time, and patience. Today I’m working on it.

top mpc 01.jpg

This is the front plate of the MPC1000 detached. It requires cleaning, with a non abrasive liquid. No biggie.

Now down to bussines, to the nitty gritty, to the major super nova affair of the whole ordeal. THE PADS.

I have a few Pads that are unresponsive, so I had to open them up. And do em a couple of MPC player techniques, known as "Carbonite Injection", "Fat Pads", "Cork Pads" - So the distance of the pad while it travels to the sensors, is less, so you have to bang on it softer. This is really tricky because it changes the velocity, and its pitch and start points, and all pads have to have the same strip at the same height and placement, if not they will behave differently. Which will happen, making this MPC1000 unique.

Here is the Pad Plate, the one from my MPC1000, the old style MPC Pad Plate:

Front

front pad plate 01.jpg

Back

back pads mpc 01.jpg

It took me a while to get to this point, as I don't like to force components (Sockets, Screws, Levers, etc) and there where some pretty stuck up parts in this MPC1000.

So I decided to gamble on it. Or I fix a couple of pads and improve the overall quality and use of the MPC, or I completely fuck it up!

I am aware of that LMAO.

Here are the Pads, each pad had to be unplugged individually from the MPC Pad Plate:

pads MPC 01.jpg

Each of this pad, has a sensor, in which I will be dropping Carbonite on them, like the material which the Han Solo prison is made of, so the connection conductivity is made best.

Here is a closer look at the Pads:

pads closeup mpc 01.jpg

Each pad is made of about 4 parts, including the Rubber Pad, which is the one we see on the outside.

Well folks, in a gross raccount, this is how I'm gonna fix, or try to fix my MPC1000, which, even working at its 20%, IT'S A BEAST.

I highly recommend, all the AKAI series Items that came out before the year 2008, the last being the MPD series. The newer ones, I haven't had the chance to try them.

Have you been thinking gettin' into Hip Hop, Low Fi, or buying a sampler? The MPC series, might be the one for you.

Other well known used sampler, that deserves special mention, is the Roland SP-404.

sp-404.jpg

Well folks, this is what I'm gonna be doing in production day number two, till everyone wakes up and I can crank my Production Speakers to 11, fixing diligently and with patience my MPC1000.

Got tips for a MPC? What do you think of the MPC and Roland 404 Series? Leave it in the comments!!!

--

Check out my other muzac here: https://fuzuku.bandcamp.com/

You can follow me by clicking on this link!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76