Music producer looking into Steem as a future publishing platform

in #music6 years ago

Hey there! I am lums, I've been producing electronic music for over 5 years now.
About 6 months ago, I got into the habit of uploading a new production every week to Soundcloud.

ghostboi.jpg

I got interested in the crypto space after watching a bunch of Andreas M. Antonopoulos videos, in which he outlined new decentralized payment models that were unimaginable before the invention of Bitcoin. I still can't wrap my head around what the future holds, but seeing Steemit and dTube in action completely blew my mind!

At this point I'm not sure what my best strategy would be. I want to keep creating music (because I enjoy doing it), but now that I've seen the possibility of getting paid for creating content (holy shit, right?) I don't see much use in uploading to a platform which I even have to pay money for (Soundcloud Pro).

Soundcloud is great for getting discovered. During my weekly upload schedule I noticed that my view/follower/like count kept increasing over time. I've looked into resonate, which has an amazing streaming model, and Steemit is already proving itself. I've paused what I was doing to focus on an EP release next year, but when I get back to my weekly schedule I'd love to host it on a decentralized network which seems to respect artists a lot more than traditional services.

What do you think? Is there a demand for this type of stuff on Steemit? Would it make sense to share private links with downloads here, which would only be available to the community? Looking forward to hearing your thoughts, as this is a really exciting topic to me.

PS: My character design was done by Pectin, who is part of the indie game team Boys Laugh +. I'm hoping to get them on Steemit as well, if I can figure out the best way for them to get rewarded for the months of work they are currently putting into their game. :)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem.com

Wellcome to family :)

Heya. If you're looking for publishing platforms in terms of crypto, make sure you check out Musicoin (referral link warning). Chuck me a follow over there and I'll return the favour and keep an eye out!

Interesting, will have to look into that. Thanks for sharing

No problem. It’s all very new and is a bit functional, but the concept is interesting. I keep an eye on their discord to see what’s coming up next. Hopefully some better UI and discovery tools!

(Oh and try the old #electronicmusic tag too. It’s a bit empty but I’m trying to make it a nice little corner as the main tag has such volume in it!)

hey nice read, i got kinda bored with soundcloud as well, so i got a bandcamp account today, im gonna experiment with it, but i would like to see a blockchain music service in the future.

nice tunes by the way :-)

Thanks, means a lot! I'm a big fan of bandcamp, here's my collection. Would be exciting if they moved towards a crypto based payment system, not sure if it's realistic to expect that in the near future though.

cool! following you on band camp now :-) you havent got any of your own tracks on bandcamp?or am i just not looking right? maybe some coder reads this and makes a dtube-ish soundcloud-bandcamp-spotify-mutant-hero-ninja-blockchain-music-service :-) i buy that for a dollar :-)

Cheers :D Not yet, working on that for next year. A decentralized Soundcloud would be amazing, though I'm still not sure what the best revenue model for that would be. I'm hoping resonate delivers on what it plans to do, it seems very promising.

didnt know resonate, looking into it now, looks promissing :-)

Congratulations @lums! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi,friend. Welcome to Steemit. It's great to have you here. I wish you good luck as you blog in our community. @greatness96

Thank you, I'll try my best :)

Hey ✌ follow me for getting me as a new follower. Upvoted 😇

Welcome to the community! I've seen artists present their work here with success, so I'm sure it's possible! It would probably ad to the popularity of your posts if you would give some intro and context to the music links you share. Text tends to be appreciated in Steemit :). Good luck with with your music in general and especially here on Steemit!

Cheers! Yeah that makes sense, from what I understand Steemit is geared towards blogging anyways. I'm thinking of doing music production tutorials as well, since the knowledge I've collected over the years might be useful to other people on here. Thanks for the nice words :)

Can you tell more about your character design? Why are his hands in his pockets? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67186.90
ETH 3110.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77