“Can't Help Falling in Love,” covered by UB40 … (Reggae Fusion / Synth-Pop – Music to Your Ears, Covers–4)

in #music5 years ago

This reggae-tinged cover ranks as one of the finest versions of the old Elvis hit.

UB40 – “Can't Help Falling in Love”

“Can't Help Falling in Love” (1993 – original from 1961)

One of Elvis Presley’s biggest hits, “Can't Help Falling in Love”  has been covered numerous times, by all sorts of musicians.

With its smooth rhythms and lively beat, UB40’s reggae-tinged cover ranks as one of the most unique versions, and one of the finest.

When UB40 released this version in 1993, it barely made it onto the US Billboard chart, entering the “Hot 100”  way down at … well, at a very cool Number 100. Eventually, it made it to Number 1. Subsequently, it also reached Number 1 in six other countries.

UB40

UB40 comprised a white Brit vocalist backed by a diverse band, with members from 6 different countries. Their influences range from the folk music they heard in their homes to the ethnic music heard in the immigrant communities where they lived.   

The band began in 1979. As all the members were unemployed at the time, they named the band after the “Unemployment Benefit, Form 40,”  which they had to fill out.

For the past 40 years, the members have been fully employed – gainfully and creatively.    (Image source)

Wise men say only fools rush in
But I can't help falling in love with you

Wise men say only fools rush in
But I can't help falling in love with you

Shall I stay, would it be a sin?
But I can't help falling in love with you

As the river flows, Gently to the sea
Darling, so we go
Some things were meant to be

Take my hand, take my whole life, too
But I can't help falling in love with you

As the river flows, Gently to the sea
Darling, so we go
Some things were meant to be

Take my hand, take my whole life, too
But I can't help falling in love with you

I can't help falling in love with you.
[3 x]  (Image source)

        Elvis Presley – “Can’t Help Falling in Love”    
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)


Lyrics by Hugo Peretti / Luigi Creatore / George David Weiss, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  
Sort:  

Dear @majes.tytyty, I love the music of UB40 and this was one of the songs that accompanied me during my years at the University. Excellent music, spectacular work! Thanks for sharing!!

Cool. Glad you like it. I'll include more great music from back then in my future posts. Enjoy!!

Wow, Friend @majes.tytyty, when I was a kid I listened to this kind of music, rock also, but ub40 is one of the most big band of regae I think, this song is very peacefull and when I listened now, fastly I go to my childhood and I remember a bunch of things and friends that now for any issue I can´t see.. thank you.

Cool. I hope you find other great musical memories in my future posts. Enjoy!

Friend @majes.tytyty, it reminded me of a pleasant moment that I lived in the year 93 at that time here in Venezuela that group was very famous. I heard it on all the radio stations and that song is song I dedicated to a girlfriend.

It's good that it brought back some good memories. Some of us "can't help falling in love," and as long as the falling is good ... everything is good!

Oops, now he reminded me of the fall. HAHAHA

Thanks @majes.tytyty, for sharing.
I listened to this song a lot back then! It's some time funny how artists pick out their names & that of their songs... Never knew UB40 meant 'Unemployment Benefit, Form 40'!

Yes, that period of time was quite grim, particularly in the UK. These guys, with their talent and sense of humor, ended up doing very well.

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (50.00%)
Summoned by @majes.tytyty
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh

Congratulations @majes.tytyty! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94