“Saint Louis Blues,” by Louis Armstrong … (Jazz / Blues / Ice Hockey Championship! – Music to Your Ears–17)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Saint Louis Blues give Boston Bruins the Boston blues.

Louis Amstrong – “St Louis Blues”

Saint Louis Blues win Stanley Cup! (2019) 

This post is in honor of the National Hockey League championship team the St Louis Blues, who recently defeated the much-favored (but least favorite) Boston Bruins in the final game of a best-of-seven series. 

The Blues claimed their first-ever Stanley Cup championship. And they did so just 6 months after being at the very bottom of the league standings.   (Image source)

Louis, Louis … Louisiana

The Blues have one of the finer names of all sports teams anywhere. “Saint Louis Blues”   (or “St Louis Blues”)  is also the title of an American jazz / blues song that was made popular by the great trumpeter Louis Armstrong, who was born in Louisiana. 

The City of St Louis has long been associated with music, primarily with jazz, blues, and ragtime. Its orchestra is the second-oldest symphony orchestra in the US.  And now its hockey Blues are the NHL champions! 

“Saint Louis Blues” (1954)

This song was written in 1914. It has been recorded by numerous artists, including Duke Ellington, Bing Crosby, Dizzy Gillespie, Billie Holiday, and Herbie Hancock.    

But the most famous renditions are by Louis Armstrong, who recorded 3 separate versions. Both his 1925 version and his 1929 version are in the Grammy Hall of Fame. This 1954 version is also magnificent.   (Image source)

Louis Armstrong

Louis Armstrong was a US jazz trumpeter and vocalist. He became one of the greatest and most influential jazz musicians of his era, and has remained so for the 5 decades since his passing.   

Armstrong died in 1971, but his music plays on. In 2017, Armstrong was finally inducted into the Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame    (Image source)

I hate to see the evening sun go down
I hate to see the evening sun go down
It makes me think, oh
On my last lone round

If I’m feelin' tomorrow
Like I feel today
Feelin' tomorrow
Like I feel today
I'll pack my dreams
And make my getaway

St. Louis woman
With her diamond rings
Pulls my man around
By her apron strings
Wasn't for powder
And his store-bought hair
The man I love
Wouldn't go nowhere, nowhere

I got the St. Louis blues
Just as blue as I can be
He's got a heart that's like a
Rock cast in the sea
Or else he wouldn't have gone
So, so far from me

Lyrics by William C Handy, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  
Sort:  

Hi @majes.tytyty

I am Venezuelan as you well know but I appreciate music and when it is good I appreciate it much more. in my mother's house she had many acetate discs of this great lord, I adore her music. Thank you again for bringing back fond memories of my childhood.

From my homeland that fights for freedom I send you a big hug.

Thanks for your note of appreciation. I'm glad you like it, and I'm glad it brings back wonderful memories.

Let Freedom Ring!!

This is simply beautiful and classic. It's a rare musical genre, or so it seems. The intro musical is captivating and romantic to the ears. Thanks for sharing.

Yes, rather rare. It's a bit bluesy, a bit jazzy. But when it first came out, it was actually called "ragtime."

That style was based on marches with some African rhythms added in.

It's interesting to know these fine facts about this genre, especially that it has some African influences. Once again, thanks for sharing.

Classical!!
So loving it...

Nice one . keep it up . good luck

Genial

Posted using Partiko Android

Woww gr888.... keep it

Posted using Partiko Android

wonderful song!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69