Headphones or Earphones?

in #music5 years ago

I've used earphones all my life and have recently changed to headphones. Today I'm wondering if you prefer headphones or earphones, and why?

Earphones

So I've had walkmans and discmans and okay let's be fair my walkman had these really cheap headphone thingies. Ever sine my discman I've used earphones and that is for the last 20 years or so. I never really liked them until apple earphones with the new shape, those ones were really quite comfy.
My pro's

  • You can wear them whilst laying on your side and falling asleep
  • In ears isolate the sound from outside
  • voice commands via microphone (or having a phone call)
  • cheap

Con's

  • They hurt my ears sometimes and I even get headaches
  • the fall out of my ears
  • I loose them or break them all the time because they are small, I step on them, or tangle the wires etc.

##Headphones
I've only been using my headphones for a month or so but absolutely loving them so far. I paid 80 euro's which is roughly $95 and the sound quality is decent.

My pro's

  • sound quality is better than my earphones
  • warms my ears now winter is getting here
  • comes with microphone for calls :)
  • I rarely loose them, and never step on them :)

My con's

  • Cannot fall asleep with them easily
  • don't exclude the outer sounds completely

Conclusion

I know that there are solutions to my cons like, buy noise cancelling headphones, but they give me a headache because too much shit is going on with my ears, also you can get earphones with a single thick wire like my headphones so they don't tangle but hey ,this is my experience :)

What is your preference?

Remember actual comments always get upvotes :)

Image source: pexels
abstract-art-background-1037999.jpg

Sort:  

I have them all, it depends on the occasion what I use.

Yes makes sense to me very much!

your points are valid on both sides. but i will forever stick with headphones because they provides quality sounds and they stay more compact on my ears unlike earphones which doesn't stay in my ears and its hurts my ears a lot. sometimes i get distracted using earphones. so my pick is headphones

Thanks @lebey1 yes I think I'm going to stay with the headphones for now as well! :)

my pick? Earphones. I feel like headphones come with a weight. Maybe I'm just resistant to change as I've always used earphones more than earphones.

Plus I listen to music while walking. If I want to cross the road and feel I should pay attention to traffic, I could easily pull out one ear. For headphones, I would have to give up my music entirely

Hey good to see you again! :) @iamthegreay Yeah I thought so as well, I wear them all the time outside, for me I just pull away one of the headphone things from one ear, and then it is okay :)

I think the expected answer is that you use headphones and earphones for different situations.

I use headphones in the studio for better sound and longer sessions.

Earphones usually on the go because they are easier to pack and I can wear glasses/sunglasses if needed. It's easier to take out one earbud if you need to listen or talk to someone.

In both cases, I like to use cables rather than wireless, but they do get tangled on everything.

yes cables are more natural to me as well, but when shopping or putting on a backpack and that kind of stuff it is just annoying haha :P

It's a clear winner mate, headphones! sure earphones are easier to fit in your pocket but headphones just block out all the other noise and just keep you into the music.

Another reason is also because my headphones keep falling out when i'm walking so it's really annoying when it does that.

Thanks glad to hear your input!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @markdeheide! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@markdeheide both of them are good but earphones cause more damage to hearing than headphones in longer use

I was just thinking the same thing. I was looking for blue tooth headphones. I would use them when at home. I may search for some like that.

3 Simple reasons not to get earbuds

  1. They fall out
  2. You get gross ear wax in them
  3. They hurt depending on your ear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87