I Rewrote You Are My Sunshine

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Hello friends,

This song has always been very close to my heart and has been passed down generation to generation. Story time, while my great grandpa was fighting in World War II he and my great grandma would exchange letters back in forth whenever they could. You Are My Sunshine was their song and at the end of every letter would end with 'you are my sunshine love.' Their deep love has been passed down to my grandma, my mother and me.

Even since I returned from the Steem Creators conference I have been in such a creative mood to write and create music. When I was practicing this song I felt like the verses didn't feel right with me so I decided to scratch it and rewrite the verses to represent my love and my life.

Here are the Lyrics!

You are my Sunshine my only Sunshine
You make me happy when skies are gray
You'll never know deer how much I love you
Please don't take my Sunshine away

When I first met you you looked like Sunshine
You made my heart smile in every way
Who knew we'd be here all these years later
Holding my hand and saying that I Do

When days are dark and you need my comfort
I'll be beside you to lift you up
You've always been there to love and guide me
With your smiling eyes and your gentle touch

Look how far we've come this life together
To think of all the things still to come
You are my partner in crime and lover
We will conquer the world as one

You are my Sunshine my only sunshine
You make me happy when skies are gray
You'll never know deer how much I love you
You are my Sunshine on a rainy day
You are my Sunshine on a rainy day

I hope you enjoyed and thank you for watching!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

greetings, charming mary

Your video was really cool. You look very beautiful playing this song. One thing I thought when I heard you sing was in that Adam Sandler movie "like it was the first time." You know?? There's a hawai's song pretty much like the way you played the banjo.

Thank you and good night!!!!

Hey 👋 thanks for watching and I am glad you liked the song! I am not familiar with the song in the Adam Sandler movie but I am sure it’s hilarious! I am playing a ukulele which is used in a lot of Hawaiian music too! Have a good day and thanks for watching!

Beautiful. 😓😀 oh my goodness. @maryjaney. Thank you for coming. You're a reason why we do this all. For the great friendships. Hugs to your sis & you. 🎠☺😎🎼🎶

Aww thank you! Seriously every time I have gone to a Steem Creators Conference you all feel like family and I am changed for the better! Seriously you guys are the best and can’t wait to hang with the gang in Austin ❤️

Sounds amazing kid! Keep up the great work!

Haha thanks man!

A timeless classic. Beautifully done! I’ve heard many different versions of this in my lifetime. So sweet about your grandparents! ❤️

Such a timeless song thank you for the love ❤️

Thank you for sharing!! My mom used to sing a version of that song to me... and she has now been gone for 2 years... that is a VERY special song, and I really enjoy your version!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow thank you so much for sharing your story! I am sorry to hear about your mum. This song is so timeless and for me brings me back to a simpler time in childhood. I am so glad you enjoyed my version and thanks for watching! ❤️

nice to see musicians on Steemit.
I am on too, check out my account.
Have a nice week

Why am I just now seeing this? This was such a great rendition! Much less depressing lyrics than the original, haha. And you look beautiful.

DAVE! I am so glad you enjoyed the video! And you are too sweet it’s been too long ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95