You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beautiful Mechanism that is 'Hearing', and what is Music?

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for writing a steemstem post :)

So your images don't seem to conform the image guidelines. You might want to check out this long post about copyright, sources etc. https://steemit.com/steemstem/@steemstem/guidelines-on-copyright-standards-in-steemstem

Sort:  

@mathowl, no worries had fun putting it together :)
I had no idea about the use of images as breaching copyright policies, thought it was standard practice. Could I modify this post and look for images that meet the guidelines? Or is it just better to wait and follow those image guidelines for my next post? Thanks for the heads up and helpful post :)

Yeah if you could modify it that would be great! We might even curate it then :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your reply, I plan to update my post to follow all guidelines necessary :)

One thing however; Anatomy is the most visual of the basic medical sciences and really needs illustrations to show structure and relationships, however many images that are available in the public domain are of very poor quality.
My question is am I able to take pictures from anatomy books I own and upload them that way? Or is it book dependant. I have a Gray's Anatomy and Thieme Atlas of Anatomy that I have paid good money for and would love to be able to showcase them here :)

That is great.

About your question: You need to get permission from the publishing company if you want to make photos of books on commercial websites. I know this is stupid but this is how copy-right works. Maybe you can head over to steemstem's discord and some of the biologists can help you out with a good source with the right licenses

Hey @mathowl, I might look at getting permission from the publishing company for future posts, for now i've decided to use images that are 'labeled for reuse'. Hope it is now well within the guidelines. Also have just started using discord so keen to come and chat with you guys over there at some point, you have been very helpful :)

Don't forget to add a link to the source. The pixabay is a good place to find images for reuse. See you on discord

Posted using Partiko Android

All done now with image credits in place, sorry about the muck around. I promise to be on the ball for my next post :) And thanks again @mathowl il see you on discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63106.36
ETH 3262.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87