Steemit funded Mobile Studio, Phase 1.

in #music7 years ago

studio b4.jpgOk, So I'm putting this out there. I was nervous about it, and asked in a previous post if you thought I should share my idea, or keep it under my hat. The Response was generally, that the longer i hold it to my chest, the longer it will go unrealized... So here it is:

I want to create a Steemit funded Mobile Studio

Here is how it all started; I have been an engineer most of my life, although I've never had the Skrilla to set up a posh high end studio. I've always had to rent or borrow other's spaces for projects... I had resigned myself to the fact that that would always be the case as long as I lived here in the mid-west (too many competitors, not enough market share to support me, and we already have some super respected well established legacy studios like Lou Whitney's studio, and Nick Sibley Music, and Jeff Smith at Studio 2100.)

So here I am,

destined to always be a hired gun, and never run my own shop... that is until I saw a video. One that arguably changed my life. Its a simple thing, but if it does not give you goosebumps, you're probably a bot. And it spawned a revolution in my thinking...


This video gave me chills. I watched it over and over again. I found the orginal version of the song, and listened to it, but it did not have anything close to the same effect, here it is for reference.

Why?

What was it about that first video that made it so moving?

Of course, its the ambiance. Its the environment, and obviously the beautiful wolves... But its way more than the wolves, gorgeous as their addition is. Its the snow. Snow does a strange thing to sound. If you've ever been out in snowy weather, you might have noticed this. It dampens harsh highs, and absorbs pretty much all verb. It creates a whole new acoustical landscape to explore. As an engineer, this got me all a flutter thinking about. And the thought that kept screaming in my head the loudest was...

I've got to bottle that!

And thus, my idea was born.

Create a mobile studio that I can simply pull into any interesting environment and go to work. There is a novelty there that is undeniable. There is also a really practical aspect to this idea...
studio b6.jpg

ALMOST ZERO OVERHEAD

Thats Right! Once this thing is up and running, my only expenses will be gas to haul it, and gas to run the gennies. Both costs I will be able to pass onto clients, and still give them a great deal.

I will pitch to production companies as a novel way to record their talent at a fraction of the cost of a high end environment. The talent will dig it, because they get break away from traditional environments, and maybe invigorate their creative processes, and the labels will love it, because they get off without having to pay some studios rent... Win/Win!

So all that has developed in my head over the past couple years. Great, and exciting and all, but still pretty much unobtainable for a broke cat like me, with kiddies to raise... that is, until I joined steemit!

Suddenly

it looks a whole lot more possible. Even probable! And more exciting, because this thing wont just be a commercial enterprise anymore, it will become a community enterprise! I can use it to come to all of you awesome steemit musicians, and record your asses! Get you a great recording, and get me a great topic for a steemit studios blog! Gets us both more steem and visibilty in the process! WIN/WIN/WIN/WIN!

The Plan:

I will put approx. half my earnings from all my authorship rewards into savings (I'm already up to 18.5 Steem in there!) And 100% of my earnings from any post directly related to this venture in there.
studio b8.jpg

I've looked all over, and found several junked out old trailers I could get for less than a thousand. So thats...

  • phase 1. Get a trailer and gut it. Financial Goal is $3K
  • phase 2. Run all my cabling, build the infrastructure, and fill the walls with roxull sound deadening insulation. Financial Goal on that is also roughly $3K
  • phase 3. Install core components: PC, Studio Console, Microphones, Studio Monitors ETC... Financial goal on that... a little steeper, but remember, I'm a system designer by day, so I get deals... lets call it $4K
  • phase 4. Finishing. Painting, Finishes, Registration, regulatory compliance.. all that. I'd say likely another $4K.

So I think with 10-15K I could get this all done. And I'm going to blog my ass off to make it so.

This is my ticket out of obscurity, and into the woods with a badass recording rig. Sureley you've been to some campouts withmusical buddies, and witnessed the magic that happens around the campfire once the booze and blunts get everybody loosey goosey... suddenly those musicians turn into magicians. Captivating everyone with their musical sorcery... Now Imagine I was there to run a coupe mics and record that. Thats the plan. I hope you'll come with me to the woods.


All renderings done by me in Sketchup


Bona Fides
-I have been a professional live and studio engineer for fifteen years in the southern Missouri area.

-I was a production manager for Music City Center in Branson, where I singlehandedly ran sound, lights, video and lasers for the Trans Siberian Experience on a system a designed and implemented.

-I was Stage Manager for Scott Shipley Music (one of Johnny Cash's guitarist) and ran over a hundred dates.

-I Ran the Pro Audio Dept at G.C. for eight years, selling and servicing systems of all sizes
-I am currently the Resident Engineer at The Old Glass Place in Springfield MO., And the on call engineer at Lindbergs Tavern in Springfield

-I am also currently the lead system designer for an AVL systems integrator here in Springfield.

-finally, I'm a father of four... So I know how to deal with noise...


I'm not usually a vote beggar, but PLEASE
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW. I have got to make this happen. I WILL MAKE THIS HAPPEN!


DQmcbUkcdpxmfgeZ2UVKQ3NwL5pkZokRrz7Yi2UrHodUsL2_1680x8400.jpgDQmSZRByS17SzaEYACkK8CANKab68qTerdq6XR4S5YgbXH8_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

I've thought about doing something similar. It's a great idea...good luck and come to NJ when it's all running! Upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks! I would definitely come to NJ given the chance, especially now that your beaches are open again! Lol.

We hit national news for all the wrong reasons, haha.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mattie.B-Leaver from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Good luck, looking forward seeing the progress. ;)

Thanks man! Whether this goes trending or not, I'm going to keep picking away at it, like I said I got 18.5 steem in savins already, and I'm determined not to touch it, and keep adding to it until I can complete phase 1. Thanks for the support!

;)

That was a beautiful song! And an awesome idea.
I can just imagine if something like this was in India, and recording our Kashmiri songs with the snow capped mountains in view....wow!
We did like a live session of a song related to disappearances of children and loved ones in a playground once. The feel was amazing. Check it out:

I wish you all the best for this project man! ✨

Dude, that's sounds great! That's what I'm talking about! We gotta come up with a way to capture that awesome outdoor vibe consistently! Thanks for the vote and comment, loved the song!

Beautiful music,good continuation

Thanks for the comment! I appreciate every bit of support I can get on this project!

Great go for it

Thanks Julie! Love you guys, and hope all is well!

Great idea. Well it travel around too ?

And as far as the steemit end goes, how cool will it be to just say "hey, I really like your music, where you at? Oh, Idaho? Cool, I'll be there in a couple days, and we'll cut you a record for free! Cause we'll both get mad steem out of it!"

Yes, this is what I like about the concept. Maybe, can even build an app to keep track where the Steem Mobile is. Love the idea. As we grow out our music community on SteemIt this might become very important.

I totally agree. It could be a really great resource for the community, as well as a really cool thing too! Imagine if we got some big name artist to cut tracks on a Steemit campout/collaboration? Could be great for the platform!

Yeah, that's the idea. I want to be able to take wherever the band/musician fancies. The inside will be setup to record in acoustically correct environments just like any studio, only you're essentially camping... But it will also have an extension of the recording system that I can drag outside and record around the campfire, in the snow, on the beach... Wherever.

I'd love to see this happen! Upvoted and resteemed.

You and me both! Thanks so much for the juice!

I would love to see this make it happen!
@napkin

This is a crazy idea which in my experience are some of the best ideas.

Yeah, I think it's crazy too. But no crazier than getting an SBA loan for fifty or eighty Grand to open up a small studio in an already saturated market. I guess I'm banking on the novelty here being worth something. Plus the initial investment can be sooooo much smaller than a traditional studio space.

No crazier than that for sure. The new tech they have these days are incredible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61619.35
ETH 3001.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64