You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today in History: Smells Like Teen Spirit released

in #music5 years ago

Yep, I'm one of these people.

I first heard it on local independent radio station 3RRR (Melbourne). I was on 'swot-vac' that weird limbo time between finishing high school while studying for final exams. I had moved to my grandmother's house so I could focus on studying for exams and not be distracted at home. I woke up one morning with my radio alarm to the station playing this song....

At the time I was listening to a lot of British Indie music, so what grabbed my attention was Dave Grohl's drumming, which had a dance-like beat found in the music I was listening to at the time. And yet, here was this kick-arse guitar and deep, deep bass sound.

I had been into metal a few years back, but got sick of the whole black leather and demonic imagery shit. But here was a band that incorporated melody and that indie vibe, but with punk-metal aesthetics. Being 18 (and finished school) I'd also just started to get into seeing live acts at local pubs, which were basically grungy-punky rock bands. So it also had that kind of vibe.

Unfortunately, I missed them when they toured a few months later in January (summer for us here in Australia). Apparently it was a seriously awesome gig. I remember a friend of mine reassuring me they would tour again. How wrong we were.

Sort:  

what a fantastic response. Ouch on the "waiting for the next world tour" thing. If you haven't seen the biographical documentary about Cobain entitled Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck, i highly suggest that you do so. It was extremely well-done.

It is nice to know that I wasn't the only one caught off guard by Nirvana... I like to believe that we all kind of were.

I would upvote your comment but i have heard rumors that this is a waste of time and SP to do so now. I'm gonna follow you and look into your blogs a bit closer instead. Thanks for the excellent response.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63123.52
ETH 3121.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88