You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 5 forgotten one-hit wonders from the 90's + "secret project" update

in #music6 years ago

I saw the title and thought, "Girl Like You" is going to make this list, or he's not getting an upvote. Thankfully, you fulfilled my criteria and earned that checkmark for success. :)

I'm honestly shocked nothing else ever became of Edwyn Collins. Like you said, the song's practically timeless in its utility. Somebody could throw it into a film today and nobody would bat an eyelash because it doesn't sound like something poached from the Empire Records soundtrack. Ten years from now, I imagine the same will hold true. Such a great tune.

If I was going to throw something out for this list, I think my choice would be "Standing Outside A Broken Phone Booth With Money In My Hand", which showed up on the soundtrack to The Cable Guy and suffered pretty much the same fate as the Collins tune: everybody who hears it today and who was alive back then thinks, "Oh yeah, that song..."; it's got a fairly timeless quality to it thanks to the B. B. King sample and the lead singer's breathy, low-key delivery; but chances are most people would be hard-pressed to remember "Primitive Radio Gods" were the ones who played it, since they vanished off the face of the earth after trying to chart their second single, which was entitled (I kid you not) "Motherfucker".

Yeahhhhh...that didn't work out so well, but hey, here's the song anyway:

Sort:  

Oh yeah, that song ;)

Its odd how some one hit wonders just "stick" while others just evaporate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71