It's a WonderFullMoonLife

in #music6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3933.JPG

Isn't it a WonderFullMoonLife ?

Given that we had the chance to witness such a special and truly rare occasion - a celestial hat-trick: Super Blue Blood Moon - I felt compelled to share a song I recently discovered that suits this celestial phenomena quite well I think.

[IMG_20171231_165541.jpg]

This haunting atmospheric song is by Japanese musician Ryuichi Sakamoto, from his 2017 album async.
The lyrics are quiet profound and really struck a chord with me. Also, I love the idea of having the lyrics performed in so many different languages throughout the song.

"Because we don't know when we will die,
we get to think of life as an inexhaustable well
yet everything happens on a certain number of time,
and a very small number, really.
How many more times will you remember a certain afternoon of your childhood,
some afternoon that's so deeply part of your being that you can't ever consider your life without it,
perhaps four or five time more, perhaps not even that ?
how many more times will you watch the full moon rises ?
Perhaps twenty, and yet it all seems limitless."
- Ryuichi Sakamoto

This song really reminded me how fleeting and short life is. And yet we keep constantly so busy with unimportant things, so we forget this simple fact: we are going to die and won't live forever on this pale blue dot.
Now it's already a new Year again, hello 2018, and January is already over again as well, hello Febuary. Where does the time go? Who knows...

Looking back I don't think I've made the most of the last year (or years even). Too much worrying not enough laughing, too much thinking not enough dancing. I certainly haven't lived as much as I could have.
Who knows how many more full moons I will still see rise and fall? Maybe I don't have as many moons left as I would like, maybe more.

Maybe Life should just be enjoyed as much and as often as possible, while we're still alive.
After all, life keeps stubbornly slipping towards it's inevitable conclusion with every second, minute, hour and day that passes; whether we're aware of it or not.

So how many more times do you think, you will see the full moon rise?

If all this has put you in a sentimental mood like me, here is some more (blue) moon music for you:

And lastly: The moon song from Spike Jonez' wonderfull film HER.

I wish you many more full moons to watch and enjoy!

Sort:  

Congratulations @musicmojonez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow I loooooooove spoken word songs like this, it gave me chills. Thanks so much for sharing this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78