Nobody's Slave Nobody's Master - Single release

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Have you thought about your death, your funeral, who'll be there, how they'll remember you and what they'll read on your tombstone?


Nobody's-Slave-Nobody's-Master-pic.jpg

LINK: https://musicoin.org/nav/track/0xb17170b74a7f7fa352901ccdb1129fb7d3b2d62d

My mother is a Tibetan Buddhist nun and one of the main practices is to visualise one's own death in order to come to terms with our mortality to eliminate fear around it to come to a deeper understanding of the impermanence of a lifetime. In this visualisation you see your friends and relatives mourn for you at your funeral, you read your epitaph and practice being unattached to your ego.
I was intrigued by this concept and wondered, not only what others would remember about me, but how I would affect my community, the people I met and the world overall with what I did in this lifetime.

What will you do in this life to make this world a better place after you leave?

Through this contemplation, I realised that one of my goals was to never enslave anyone with my beliefs, my behaviours and my actions and live my life being only the master of myself and not anyone else, by not being a slave to my thoughts and conditionings, nor be a slave to anyone else's indoctrinations, actions or behaviours.

What a better, safer, more loving and compassionate place this planet would be if everyone lived by that edict.

These philosophical musings were the fertile ground of where this song was birthed...

This is the original single.

If you want to see the live collaboration with Ben Lee of this song please click this link: https://steemit.com/openmic/@nathankaye/steemit-open-mic-week-79-nobody-s-slave-nobody-s-master-collab-w-ben-lee-nathan-kaye

LYRICS
Nobody’s Slave Nobody’s Master
By Nathan Kaye

Drifting along with the tide,
My actions as an innocent child,
I would hold the hands of a friend,
Too scared to swim in the deep end,
I wished I would be king of just me,
‘Cause I feared no one and no one feared me,
No one feared me…

I am nobody’s slave,
I am nobody’s master,
I am nobody’s slave,
I am nobody’s master,

We fingered rules in the sand,
And scratched them out with the other hand,
My laughter would scream wild and free,
‘Cause I feared no man and no man feared me,
No one feared me…

I am nobody’s slave,
I am nobody’s master,
I am nobody’s slave,
I am nobody’s master,

When I die and my body’s in the earth,
My soul returned to the place of it’s birth,
The inscription on my tomb you will see,
That I feared no one and no one feared me,
No one feared me…

I am nobody’s slave,
I am nobody’s master,
I am nobody’s slave,
I am nobody’s master,

©Nathan Kaye 2005
Original version released on the Burning the Candle EP, 2006

Thanks so much for commenting below
(because I'm hoping you're about to ).
If you felt the vibe of this song, or it's helped you shift perspective,
please do click upvote, click resteem, click follow and comment.
Let's connect, be friends!
I'd really love to hear from you.

I try my best to check out the blogs of my genuine upvoters as well as those of you who do genuine comments and especially those who follow me…


Also, I'm a proud helpinaut!
Visit @helpie to find out what that means and
to find out if you'd be a proper fit for our discord group!
Helping is the #1 goal!
No selfishness allowed!

Sort:  

This is so emotionally deep and such a unique idea! And that you were able to put it into a song just makes the message so much more clear. I have been working on myself lately too. Working to release attachments and expections of others and to release myself from the ego that sometimes traps me. Thanks so much for sharing a powerful message!
Ivy

Thank you. Now, see this is the kind of deep contemplative comment that warms my spirit to read because it means that this piece of art has inspired what I set out for it to inspire.
That's a blessing to me.
Blessings to you!
:)

You are so very welcome! Artists need more recognition in this world, especially when sharing such powerful messages. I really needed to read this actually so I am grateful for your perfect timing. Blessings to you as well!
Ivy

To a proud helpienaut!!!!
Congratulations!
Once again, I find myself in tune with what you have shared. You truly reach people with your music @nathankaye and @benleemusic

You inspire us to keep moving forward.

Yesterday evening I was so down again.
I felt judged and condemned.
But reading your words today, added to a lot of beautiful words my loved one and my closest friends had already shared with me this morning; and this made it all even worthwhile.

"Through this contemplation, I realised that one of my goals was to never enslave anyone with my beliefs, my behaviours and my actions and live my life being only the master of myself and not anyone else, by not being a slave to my thoughts and conditionings, nor be a slave to anyone else's indoctrinations, actions or behaviours.

What a better, safer, more loving and compassionate place this planet would be if everyone lived by that edict."

What you said was perfect! I pray everyone including those who know me directly, would reach your music and this post of yours.

another beautiful soul like you guys that inspires my soul @nantzjbalayo @michellpiala @randyray

someday when i'm back on track, i'll be able to create music too...soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61