Dream Theater - Distance Over Time (2019)

in #music5 years ago

Previously, I wasn’t much liked Dream Theater creativity. That is, to listen to I could selectively some albums, and songs, but I couldn't to get a feel for their music. First "alarm" bell was studio album "Images and Words" distant 92nd year. And I wondered: what the hell I haven't on player songs from it? In the end, the group creative soft carpet paved a path for me to the genre of progressive metal, which is now one of my most-most.

DT-Album-Cover.jpg

I would not like to praise these men much. Each Dream Theater release in its own way agitated the mind, but Distance Over Time is a vivid example of what the brain can detonate from the opening reefs of the very first composition. Only if you do not think too much and do not begin to disassemble everything on the shelves.

Only ten tracks. Too little for my greed, but quite enough to get an internal recharge and calm down.

It rarely happens when each song on a record harmoniously complements each other. At "Distance Over Time" you can hear the echoes of old works. At the same time, there are so many new ideas, so much vigor, some kind of attractive beauty and a change of mood that, while listening, I close my eyes and forget about everything around.

I wouldn't say that album is too emotional, and this is its partial misfortune. Perhaps I just listened to him at the right moment. Then again and again ... But it seemed that all the merit in technics, experience and musical feels. That is, good musicians gave just a good job, requiring mandatory listening. Novelties are not enough.

I think all fans or just DT listeners regret that they didn’t hear the tailor’s original Portnoy's drumms on this record. With all his technicalism and virtuosity, Mike Mangini (the one who is a new drummer) is not at all easy to fit into the complex musical structures of the songs.

Anyway, it was interesting for me to listen. The only regret is that I could not find the bonus track “Viper King” for you to listen to.

In general, I liked the album. And if you compare it with a pair of recent full-length works, then this studio tape is good. I know that the fans have already called the post-portnoy period the worst in the band's history. But I like this one.

Sort:  

Thank you nesmeliy! You've just received an upvote of 57% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95