Lovers & Lions.

in #music5 years ago

I spent a long time trying to record musical acts with a single microphone and 2 Cameras because I realized I was surrounded by unacknowledged talent. Making a decent recording in front of a live audience can be tough; 100 people in a room means there are 100 reasons a recording can fail, but sometimes the gods smile on you and present you with talent that makes the audience shut up and listen :)

Folk music act, Lovers & Lions did exactly that. I recorded the entire show but decided that "Stay Close To Me" was the one I should render. As it turned out, they thought so too and recorded a studio version of that song about 6 months later that turned out great.

First my recording at Café de Cactus. With good equipment you can hear the creaking of the wood floor as the sound was recorded with a Zoom H1 suspended from a fishing pole.

Here is their studio recording with a few more instruments to tastefully augment their vocal work. This video is not mine and was published about 9 months later.

I was pleasantly surprised and humbled to find that my video is still featured on their website today. This also gave me a good opportunity to compare live sound to a studio recording.

They recently returned from Nashville and I'm curious to find out what they did there.

If you got this far, I thank you for your time and hope you enjoyed the music. Greetings!

Sort:  

Hola@mi querido onnovocks excelente grabacion y buena interpretacion de esta agrupacion es una melodia refrescante me encanto, bueno cada dia surge tecnología que ayuda a mejorar los ruidos exteriores que interfiere en las grabaciónes, te cuento que mi hijo la depura con un audio fax de audio. Felicitaciones un abrazo . Thanks for lovely day.

Managed to get this far. Great fishing (with that pole).
If only for this, it was worth popping in.

This is a really nice surprise. I didn't think I'd ever hear from you again. Made my day, thanks!

But I told you so... or don't you (of all people!) read the fine print (in fishing video)....
This particular recording made my day: a true gem!

Uhhm, no. All I remember was you saying you'd completed your 6 month experiment as you'd set out to do. At times I can't read the fine print, like at the end of a full day editing video, everything can go blurry and all I can read is tears. ...I watched your video again and the clue is there indeed. Either way, I was really delighted to get an unexpected comment from you :)

Does this mean you will start to post again? Once a week maybe? ... Month? ... Hope so...

The "coincidence" that you (finally) posted up a beautiful piece of music (on the day of my planned but for you unexpected return) means too much to me, to not at least check in every now and then and maybe educate you (to tears) on Proust... Otherwise, Moby Dick is now on the headphones... so you could be in for a whale of a time.

You keep fishing, now, you hear!

This post has been found valuable and upvoted by El surtidor


This post got an extra 5 power for following us

Follow @elsurtidor to get biggest votes in your next posts

Congratulations @onnovocks! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @onnovocks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies. Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16