COLOUR HAZE - In Her Garden (2017)

in #music6 years ago

For this band's sake, it's too bad their members were seemingly all born too late, because this should have come out in 1969 or so. I know I have a tendency to say that a lot, but I guess it's just amazing how many bands active today are capturing that era's sound and vibe so well.

Having said that, this also reminds me of 90s bands... who were borrowing from 70s band who, at that point, were only 20 years old instead of 40. Fine line perhaps? Perhaps. I think you know what I mean, though.

The guitar is drenched in both fuzz and reverb in the best way possible. It's pretty upfront in the mix, but you can always hear the very capable rhythm section as well.

"Into Her Garden" is the opening track, and it's brief and instrumental. It's not quite a title track, as the album is called In Her Garden.

"Black Lilly" reminds me both of Led Zeppelin and Soundgarden. The vibe is both toe-tapping and head-bobbing.

"Magnolia" starts off a little more modern sounding, with an arpeggiated soft synth and dirty-clean choppy guitar chords with a pulsing bass tone and a perfectly repetitive drum part. Then it veers off into what I could possibly describe as 90s fuzzy indie rock territory. For a while, it reminds me of Pavement with synthier (I reserve the right to fabricate words) keys.

From Wikipedia:

Colour Haze
Colour Haze Group Photo.jpg
Colour Haze: Stefan Koglek, Philipp Rasthofer, Manfred Merwald performing live in The Netherlands on 15 August 2008
Background information
Origin Munich, Germany
Genres Stoner rock Psychedelic rock
Years active 1994–present
Labels Elektrohasch Schallplatten MonsterZeroRecords
Website http://www.colourhaze.de/
Members Stefan Koglek Philipp Rasthofer Manfred Merwald
Past members Tim Höfer Christian Wiesner Felix Neuenhoff

Well, I'll be damned. See, that's why sometimes I think it's a good idea to look up bands before you listen to them, but in other ways, I like to listen and just sort of go with my gut feeling not really knowing anything about them. If this band sounds like 90s stocker rock at all, it could have something to do with the fact that they were founded in 1994. I asked Siri to double check for me, and 1994 was in fact during the decade known as The 90s. The one with that dude Puck from The Real World.



FOLLOW THE CANNURATION TRAIL ON STEEMAUTO.



Posted from our site with SteemPress : http://otherworldly.cannuration.space/index.php/2018/10/22/colour-haze-in-her-garden-2017/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60732.86
ETH 2906.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57