cigar jazz wine

in #music5 years ago

These days have been pretty quiet. But today I got a last minute call to cover a friends gig, as his earlier event kept getting delayed. He was going to be late, so he asked me to cover the first set. I ended up only covering the first couple of songs!

IMG_5363.JPG

Since moving to Shanghai, I’ve found that this is the best way to work the scene. Well, this is how guys that have been here a while do it anyway.

Ideally, you find a regular gig and convince them to let you sub out on occasion. Then when events (which pay a lot higher) come your way, you find a sub to cover your gig. Or even just the first part of your gig.

It does get complicated sometimes. Actually most bar or restaurant gigs don’t really like it when you sub out, some even will not tolerate the practice. It’s also because of the confusing work and licencing laws in China.

The problem with that is that, well… life happens. People get sick, fall out with other musicians, get fired etc.

Anyway, so tonight this was at CJW, otherwise known as cigar jazz wine. It’s located in Xintiandi, where La Moda is and a bunch of other bars and restaurants. It’s pretty expensive in this area, but the tourists keep comin… I’ve never understood it.

I will also never forget the first time I came in here and saw it was about $15AUD for a coke and 20 for a beer! I guess these tourists see something I don’t. Anyway, a nice area to find steady gigs.

I stuck around to watch for a while, and took some video. It’s Donyale on vocals, Lady C on keys, Eric on drums and Fred on bass.

Some musicians have talent, or a high level of playing, some have great social skills and get lots of gigs and get along with everyone. More and more I find it rare to possess both. Fred is an exception here. Deadly player and great guy!

Sort:  

Thank you owain82220! You've just received an upvote of 72% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25