The Sound of Silence (cover by Danny Hamilton and Serena Matthews)

in #music5 years ago (edited)


Well, hey. Here's a Simon & Garfunkel cover arranged and produced by @dannyhamilton, he plays also all of the instruments in the song. I just sing along with him. This was just nearly 2 years ago. I am quite proud of it and hope someone out there finds some pleasure in hearing it. I think I have posted this before but I just can't remember. Never hurts sharing again I guess, if that's the case. The video has the lyrics poppping along with the song, if you're into that kinda thing (like I am.)

I must say with all my heart that Simon & Garfunkel are two of the greatest musicians ever in the history of life... so no cover is ever going to be as awesome as any of their originals, in my opinion.. but it is certainly fun to do that whole "flattery by imitation" thing.

Danny added a tribal feel to this because all the proceeds from downloads of it go to the Standing Rock Sioux Indian Reservation. That's another story entirely, and I am tired now and will save it for another day, but to sum it up in a hashtag: #noDAPL

Thanks for listening, and much love to all. And to my soul brother, @dannyhamilton I miss you and I apologize for being out of touch... but I will work on that, and I hope you come back to STEEM soon!

images.png

The Sound of Silence

Hello darkness, my old friend
I've come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence

In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone
'Neath the halo of a street lamp
I turned my collar to the cold and damp
when my eyes were stabbed
by the flash of a neon light
that split the night
and touched the sound of silence

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People talking without speaking
People hearing without listening
People writing songs that voices never share
No one dared
Disturb the sound of silence

"Fools" said I, "You do not know
Silence like a cancer grows
Hear my words that I might teach you
Take my arms that I might reach you"
But my words like silent raindrops fell
And echoed in the wells of silence

And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon god they made
And the sign flashed out its warning
In the words that it was forming

And the sign said,
"The words of the prophets
Are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls"

And whispered in the sounds of silence

images.png

Songwriters: Paul Simon
The Sound of Silence lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group

New arrangement by @DannyHamilton
visit him at dannyhamilton.net

To purchase from Apple Music or iTunes:
https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/the-sound-of-silence-single/1209251043

serena_gif.gif

I am a proud member of @helpie
@helpie is now a witness..
♥ We would appreciate your vote

Adorable paintingangels gif by @carrieallen

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

❤️ Thank you ❤️

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

love this version!!!

Loving the duet, I recognize the song too.

This is amazing! Not only is it one of my favorite songs of all time, but your duet is so lovely. I listened to it when you first posted it and intended to comment then, but some family thing came up and I haven’t had time since. But I have this sound and this version of the song has stuck with me this whole time. You really did it justice.

Hello @paintingangels, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99