MY WEEKEND PLAYLIST

in #music6 years ago (edited)

giovanni-randisi-219707-unsplash.jpg

source

Hello Steemians!, the past weeks have been both very exciting and challenging for me. I have been working on a five-track EP which I hope to share with you very soon. On the course of creating my EP, I stumbled upon some very amazing sounds from some very amazing musicians. This sounds did not only inspire me to create new music, it also saw me through some very down and depressing moments. So, it is a pleasure for me to share with you some of those sounds that I stumbled upon. Without wasting much time, let me name them.

Goye Kur by Ali Farka Toure

Even though I don't understand the Malian language, I understand the rhythm, melody and harmony because it speaks fluently to me in a language I can understand. The guitar riff played at the beginning of these song would sure awaken any ardent Bllues or B.B king fan. I don't know much about Ali Toure but what I could hear in his music was a perfect and beautiful combination of Malian traditional music with the American blues form. Ali Toure was ranked 76 on Rolling Stone's list of 100 greatest guitarist of all time. I would recommend you check out more of his music on youtube. Below is a youtube video of Ali performing “Goye Kur” live.

Gambia by Sona Jobarteh

Sona Jobarteh is a multi instrumentalist from the Gambia and the UK. Sona majorly plays the Kora. Sona Jobarteh is regarded as the first female professional Kora player to come from a Griot in West Africa. Check out Sona Jobarteh full biography here. Below is a youtube video of “Gambia” by Sona Jobarteh.

Timbuktu Fasso by Fatoumata Diawara

Fatoumata Diawara is a France based Malian singer and songwriter. She plays the guitar and combines and blends the Wassoulou musical style of West Africa with musical elements from Jazz, Blues and Rock music. Check out more about Fatoumata here. I love the mellow mood of “Timbuktu Fasso” combined with her sensuous voice. The pentatonic riffs and runs sung in a very smooth legato style, just makes Fatoumata’s music very irresistible.

Bissa by Fatoumata Diawara

The percussions interlocking with the guitar on this one just lifted my spirit. Awesome melody too.

My Own Fault by Manny Walters

It was an amazing thing stumbling upon this amazing South African soul singer. Manny has this gravy touch to his voice that just makes his music more passionate and energetic especially when combined with the incredible sound of the electric guitar. I love the somewhat distorted vocals and I couldn't just control the impact this song had on me.

Ndje Yem by Blick Bassy

This Cameroonian singer-songwriter remains one of my best in West Africa. I hardly go a day without listening to Blick Bassy. I would recommend this song if you are looking for something to relax you or probably make you fall asleep. The trombone player did an incredible job on this. Blick’s song kiki was used as the theme song for the world wide launch of iPhone 6 by Apple in 2015.

Wow!, I hope you enjoyed the tunes. Don't hesitate to upvote, comment and resteem if you loved this post. Thank you.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97