Morning Coffee Improv - ''All of Me'' - Jazz standard.

in #music5 years ago

Hello Steemit!


I have to confess this is a little of a shitpost for me hahaha since I am not covering many specifics today .. but I will tackle more theory soon . I'm going to Rosario to play today with a local artist so I won't be around but I wanted to share a bit of what my morning routines kind of look like . hehehe

I usually practice my guitar in the morning ( and also Steem in the mornings) before going to work and do other ''3d world'' things to pay the bills.

Since I don't have too much time to practice nowadays and specially around this time of the year , what I usually do is just sit with my cup of coffee on front of my computer and put out a little ''study plan'' and work on it for about 30 min or an hour and try different things over some short improvisation .. I record it , with mistakes and all , to later review what I liked about the playing and what I didn't and try to make improvements around that , if there is a particular line that I liked in the improvisation , I'll transcribe it and see if I can apply it in more situations.

Anyways , here is my morning improv over this tune:

All of Me - Morning Improvisation

Here is a general layout of some of the sounds I was trying out , I play chord by chord .. so .. each scale/mode is to be thought over the chord I wrote it for:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/14wDEaa1Rd2ikQrZeXah-_3yNgOs8kdyJ/view?usp=sharing

Here is the backing track I played over so you can give it a try yourself , don't forget the coffee!

Any questions you might have on how to play over this tune I'd be more than happy to answer!

Thanks for watching!

pechi777.png

Sort:  

Great practice! Happy tunes! I don't understand anything else you're saying about chords and backing tracks, but coffee I like!

you might like some ''matecito'' then too right ? ;)

Aaaaaand you did it again! hahaha. You are a beast man! Jazz was always my unhappened love, always want to know more about it, but always be quite busy to learn it. I want to know what type of scales do you use based in each chord. Please give me your piggy wisdom, I need it to be better musician hahaha @pechichemena.

hahahaha @miguelvargas ! I'm not a beast :P .. but I kind of like to investigate over Jazz progressions . More than actually knowing hard scales.. the first step is to be able to connect the chords with chord tones and arpeggios.. ''All of Me'' is a great start for that... playing the arpeggio of each particular chord will give you a good foundation..

I linked the PDF of the scales I used in the post if you want to check them out :P .. also.. i can make a more detailed tutorial if you would like one ;) .

Cheers my friend!

Pleaase do! I will love see it and learn more about it. I'm I quite excited about your initiative, so meaby I will take the challenge and play "All of Me" with your indication and see what happen.

:D yay ! let me know!

read morning coffee... I JOIN... knock knock! I see lots of sevenths I want to practise... teach me!

I need coffee too! I will trade for cookies.. ;)

accepts.... opens door

nommmm cookies
@paintingangels never dissappoints! :)

hahahahahahaa... my world revolves around 7ths <3 .. of course.. there is always coffee for you :)

Mine around the Minors!

I love it! This is one of my favorite songs. dancing

So uplifting! I feel energized, happy and motivated in a lighthearted way listening to this type of music. :-)

hahaha glad my sleepy face and ugly sweater motivates you :P ! thank you for stopping by for a listen ;)

hehehehe thanks brother!

Hi @pechichemena!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.429 which ranks you at #2104 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 21 places in the last three days (old rank 2125).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 265 contributions, your post is ranked at #23.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99