Del The Funky Homosapien

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Del The Funky Homosapien/Del Tha Funkee Homosapien

Hello, steemians!

Today I am going to introduce you to a rapper I really love. He is not a mainstream rapper and I believe not a lot of people know of him. I like many different kinds of music and many different artists but I believe it is more valuable to introduce you to someone who you might not know as well, instead of someone that all of you already know of. This is why I decided on, Del The Funky Homosapien.

History of the artist

Del the Funky Homosapien which I am going to call Del from now on was born in 1972 in Oakland. He is not only a rapper but also a producer. He is the cousin of the notorious Ice Cube. He started by writing songs for Ice Cube and Ice Cube’s band “Da Lench Mob”. At the age of 18, he released his first album called: I wish my brother George was here. This album’s most notorious song is mistadobalina.

Del has released 11 solo albums. It is a lot, but all of his albums have different feels to them. I believe I listened to most if not all of them. But if you have never heard of him yet, you probably should start with his most famous songs and collaborations. A lot of his songs are played in video games such as Tony Hawk, Nba, street fighter and more.
He is inspired by Slick Rick.

Collaborations

About his collaborations, he is most notorious for his collaborations with Gorillaz in the songs Clint Eastwood and Rock the House. He is represented by the character Del tha ghost rapper. Del wrote his lyrics himself which can be rare at some point in some artists’ careers.

He also had a song with Tupac called Funky Freestyle.

Hieroglyphics

Del founded the band Hieroglyphics with other members in 1990. They have released 3 albums and their most notorious songs are: “You never knew”, “Make your move”, “At the helm”.

I believe you should listen to “Make your move”, I love this song.

Deltron 3030

This is my favorite work of Del The Funky Homosapien. It is a trio of the rapper Del, the producer Dan the Automater and DJ Kid Koala. They have released two albums under the name Deltron 3030, the first one being of the same name. This work is very different, it is definitely not mainstream. Lots of celebrities featured on this album such as Lonely Island, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Aaron Bruno and many more. The singer of Gorillaz (and de facto blur too) Damon albarn is also on the album on two tracks of the album.

Here are a few critics to let you understand

"The Wire (magazine)" (10/00, p. 86) - "A planet where rhymes are pecked into trees by gnawed off golf pencils between clenched teeth."

"NMS":"A space opera ... the most purely enjoyable hip-hop album of 2000 ... It's a crazed sci-fi journey to Planet B.S., that takes myriad detours around the galaxy ... utterly mesmerizing."

My opinion

The first time I heard Del was while listening to Gorillaz. I have always loved Gorillaz and while listening to some songs I thought, who are these rappers? Because they are great! While first listening to Gorillaz, many years ago, I probably didn’t know most of them. I just realized that I actually listen to most of them now because I am more into rap. For example, Del the Funky Homosapien but also MF Doom and De La Soul.

While listening to Del and discovering his music, I really fell in love with the album Deltron 3030. This album is really something else, it is not like anything you have ever heard! His whole album is about life in the year 3030 and him being a superhero. This album is just so odd and amazing at the same time, it makes you totally dream.

Give it a try and see you soon! :)

Sort:  

Ah, you post in French and English. Very good. Nice one, frero

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Del was that dude, i just remember all the beefs he got into out here man. He was in it heavy!! Use to run into him alot in LA. Great dude.

Love Hieroglyphics and especially that track! Being from New Zealand and all ;)

Still enjoy Del's verse in "Clint Eastwood" to this day and Deltron 3030 along with Dr. Octagon got a lot of play from me in college. Thanks for the post!

Still enjoy Del's verse in "Clint Eastwood" to this day and Deltron 3030 along with Dr. Octagon got a lot of play from me in college. Thanks for the post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64