What music should you listen to? 1/2

in #music6 years ago

Hello Steemians,

Today I am going to tell you the music I think it is worth listening to! :) This is the beginning of the music topic, this is why it will remain more general.
Firstly, I am going to first describe you the evolution of my music taste. After that, I am going to introduce the criteria that I believe determine if the music is worth listening to or not.
P.S. Just to specify, this article is about my beliefs and obviously, anyone can have different beliefs and I would never blame anyone who has different criteria or different music taste. (even if they listen to Justin Bieber and nothing else... I think)
P.S.2 I am not going to list all the bands and music I listen to because there is just too much to write it all down.

Rock

Sum41 Cd cover

I believe I went through a lot of phases and I can say that what made me really get into music is Rock. I was about 10 years old when I bought my first CDs and this is what made me interested in music. Music became a passion for me, I got into playing guitar (even though I soon realized it was not as easy as planned). I went to some concerts and I talked music with my friends all the time.

This period gave me a lot, the love of rock, some metal, and punk. My first concert was Linkin Park in 2008, I was about 11 years old (I wasn't in the pit at that age obviously). 2 years later, I went to see Slipknot in live. (I am going to talk more about concerts below). My favorite band was Sum41, I listened to some Green Day, Nirvana and more. I still like most of the bands I listened to and enjoy listening from time to time to that music.

Dubstep and some electronic music

Skrillex

While still listening to some Rock, I became about 16 years old. It was time to party and this needed a different kind of music. What I got into at that time was a lot of Dubstep or some other electronic music. I listened to some classic stuff like Skrillex and Borgore, some more hardcore dubstep like Figure or some lighter stuff like Justice and Sydney Samson.

My girlfriend offered me a ticket to see Skrillex live, I loved it. I don't often listen to this kind of music anymore but sometimes I get the opportunity to see some live and this is where this kind of music really shines. If you are at a music festival and get the opportunity to see something like that live, you totally should, the atmosphere is really something different!

Folk, Indie

Iron and Wine

At about 17-18, I finally began to listen to some more calm music. It is at this moment that I believe I started to enjoy music for what it was. I could enjoy almost all types of music as long as I believed they were beautiful, I could at that point listen to really calm and sweet music while enjoying some more hardcore violent music the next day if I believed it was good music.

At this point, I was actually in America as an exchange student. Some friend of mine taught me how to play the ukulele. We made some concerts for some school contest and it was great! We played "Somewhere over the rainbow" dressed up as hawaïan female dancers in front of the whole school. I played the ukulele and sang while one friend of me was playing the ukulele too and I had two very hairy friends who would dance higher up on the scene. We actually won the contest with this good/bad performance. Me playing the ukulele helped me develop my love for the folk music (or just calm rock/independent music) as I tried to replicate what I heard.

At that point, I loved bands like Bright Eyes, Death Cab For Cutie, Iron and Wine, Angus and Julia Stones, Mac Demarco and many more! Whatever kind of music you are listening to, I suggest you give a try to some of these bands and if you want more, I will probably write some more articles about it in the future. I believe this music can be enjoyed by everyone, whether you like metal or rap, this genre helps to get an open mind about music. What I would probably add in this category is lo-fi, chill music that I listen when I study, this would include Joji, XXYYXX, and more. I add this genre because it is in the category of chill music that helped me being openminded about music.

Sort:  

Was nice reading your post, the start of my development of music was like yours from rock, but i somehow managed to go from rock to pop russian music and a couple of indie rock bands, nevertheless good read!!!

Wow, Russian pop music sounds strange and interesting, could you tell me what, so that I give it a check? :)
And thanks for the comment!

Hey @penguins.nation. Great post you have a really good taste in music. I saw Slipknot live a few years back - cool show but didnt think the sound was great. Jealous about Skrillex!!! Are you into Pendulum too?

I have started a tag for Steemians to share and discover new music! (not a big fan of the general music tag here) - #musicdiscovery - feel free to use this when sharing music in the future :)

Hey, thanks for the comment! I am actually not into Pendulum really but I'll go check it deeper! :)
Cool for the tag, I'll use this in the future then. :)

Fair enough. They are one of my favorites! If you do then listen to Immersion its a masterpiece.

Look forward to seeing music you share! ☺☺

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

It's great to see you listen to such a wide variety of music. All of your go-to folk artists have been mainstays of my playlists for years, so I'm looking forward to exploring some of your electronic/dubstep recommendations!

Thanks for the comment, I'll probably post about many different genres. And glad to hear they are on your playlists! :)

Congratulations @penguins.nation, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 7929 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1437.30. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I love rap music. When I listen to the likes of Dr Dre talking about making something from nothing in the streets, it inspires me coz that's technically me they relate to.

me gusto mucho tu relato,comparto contigo sobre que debemos experimentar escuchar varios tipos de musica , yo comence con el pop rock a los 11 años y ya amis 58 años he llegado hasta la electronica , pasando por heavy metal y el llamado rock alternativo, buena ya viejo he estado en caracas en los concierto de nirvana y green day.

hello , only gitars and drumms :) my favorite Faith no more !!!

Nice article dude.I am pretty much with you on all of the genres except dubstep which I have not got really given much chance..
Different music for different moods and occasions. I've also warmed to folk music over the past year or two and would love to hear more bands similar to the Head and the Heart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23