What music should you listen to? 2/2

in #music6 years ago

Weird/different kind of music

Stupeflip CD cover

I didn't know if I should have put this kind of music here because it is not really a kind of music, it is just very different music. But this is I believe why I enjoy it so much. Some of it is really aggressive, like stupeflip (french hardcore rap/rock), some of it is just weird french rap that is really different(Kamini or Manau). Some other weird English-speaker rap(Die Antwoord). Some of it is just awesome in live but is the stupidest thing you have ever heard(Salut C'est Cool).

Someone I recently got into listening is Filthy Frank or named Pink Guy as a music artist. His music is the most offensive music I have ever heard but I find it really impressive that someone dared to create music like that and I actually quite enjoy it. Another classic band that I would put into this category would be Lonely Island as the goal of their music is to make their audience laugh and not necessarily enjoy the beauty of their music.

Rap

Biggie and Tupac

It might sound weird when you see the background of my musical taste but I really got into listening to rap. I don't actually listen to Drake or Travis Scott much. I started listening to rap by enjoying weird french rap that I thought the lyrics were cool, I believed the music was good. I then listened to Kid Cudi a lot. After I could acknowledge to myself, yes, I actually like rap, I started by listening to more hardcore rap. I started listening to old 90's french rap like IAM (if you are an English native, you should give it a try, you will feel what it's like to listen to foreign music). My love of rap started, I got into the Golden age of American rap, I listened to almost every possible artist of that era, to every different style of rap.

I listened to hardcore stuff like the Wu-tang clan or very smooth jazzy rap like A tribe called quest. I liked the roughness of it or the beat mixed with the flow of these artists which was amazing. I listened to a lot of Eminem, mostly his old stuff. I believe that rap is a genre that allows the artist to have a lot of freedom. Of course, they are trends that most artists follow but so many styles are possible, I think it is awesome. You can compare so many styles, the beginning of gangsta rap with the calmer rap with jazz sounds, aggressive rap like Eminem's, mumbling rap, funny rap like Lil Dicky, Trap, Underground rap like Jedi Mind Tricks or more. At the moment, I listen to a lot of "new" things like Tyler the Creator and Earl Sweatshirt.

I believe that in every single music genres, there are bands or artists that are worth listening to. I feel that people often don't try listening to new stuff enough and that it is a mistake. Ok, I could understand you don't like Rock music but every single genre offers so much possibility that people should open their mind more. I have many friends that just listen to hardstyle and everything else is garbage for them but music is so varied, it almost makes me sad. Music can be so enjoyable, whatever the type of music. Whether it is the lyrics I am impressed by, the lyrics I can relate to, the rhythm I really enjoy, the emotions I feel while hearing a song, joy, sadness, desire to dance, the desire to party, and more.

My advice to you is that you should always be openminded because you might very well surprise yourself, music is so vast and varied. Personally, I listen to all the genres stated above and many more actually. I love some rock, I love some rap artists and I hate some. It is not because I feel a certain way about a music genre that I have to like or hate all the artists about this genre. I explained my music history to show you that it is possible to go through a lot of phases and still listen to a very wide range of music. (Which I believe is the best thing to do, even if it is very different music from what I listen to.)
If you guys have any questions, feel free to ask. And if you have any suggestion, I am always in search of new artists to listen to. ;)

If you liked my article about music, I will probably write some more about more detailed aspects of music.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

gotta love die antwoord, and i agree with you, its very rewarding to be opened minded about music no matter the genre. Otherwise you can miss something that is perfection just beccause of a bias

Glad to hear I am not the only one with this opinion. :)

La música es super variada.Para alguien que vive de la música mediante composiciones es bueno tener varios estilos en la mente, escucharlos, estudiarlos. si quieres llegar hacer un buen compositor de canciones deberías escuchar distintos estilos para jugar con sus ritmos. muy buen post.
Firma steemit.gif

Congratulations @penguins.nation, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 7929 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1437.30. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Congratulations @penguins.nation! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91