Music that reaches your heart

in #music6 years ago

I came across an article recently about music and the emotional response it elicits in different people. When I listen to certain types of music or see a particularly talented performer on stage, very often I experience what may be called “Goosebumps”, or even a chill. The hair on my arms will stand straight up and waves of “chills” will wash over me. I had always thought that this was common to all of us but in the article I read it stated that not everyone experiences this. I was quite surprised to learn that our brains may be wired differently.


Image Source

This led me to think more carefully about the effect of music on the human psyche. Memories associated with music have the ability to amplify an emotion. Not all associations are pleasant ones either. One song that always makes me upset and nervous for no obvious reason is the song from South Pacific called “I’m gonna wash that man right outta my hair.” This phobia, if I can call it that, has been with me for as long as I can remember. The song first came out in 1949 as part of the stage musical South Pacific, and later in 1952 in the film version. It was also a Clairol advertisement in 1970.

I have no idea what set of circumstances occurred to create the emotional trigger, so I was probably very young. There are other bits of music that bring a feeling of loss and luckily many others that bring joy and excitement.

There are spiritual choruses that will definitely bring out the Goosebumps. My wife and I have sung in quite a few different choirs. At a gathering we attended, four of us sang the hymn “The love of God” every time I hear it now, it brings a flood of memories.
Is this just an emotional reaction? Or are we tapping into something greater. I think the latter.

Music can be therapy, when I'm down, the right music can change my mood. We are such complex creatures and probably the only ones that can make and appreciate music.

What are your experiences? I am sure there are many stories out there.

Sort:  

I have the same addiction, if I can call it that! One song that I heard as a child, sung by "Wanda Jackson" was "How Great Thou Art" and it has remained with me ever since! Many others have sung it and I still get "Goosies" whenever I hear it! Music certainly has an emotional vibration, be it happy or sad! Blessings and Upvoted!

How Great Thou Art has always been a favourite of mine. It has the power to really connect you with the Divine. Thanks for commenting and upvoting. Have a blessed day.

Your post has been selected to be entered into @teamsouthafrica's Daily Nominated Post section in Teamsouthafrica's Discord group. Congratulations!

#teamsouthafrica

Agree music can trigger of memories good or bad, most cases I have found good memories coming to light @petruska13

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 19 SBD worth and should receive 90 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Years ago, in My cars I had Cassette Players ( preceding Cd's) I had a Judas Priest Metal Tape , that if I was running late for a meeting, would insert it, and I would miraculously get there on time! I assume it got the Adrenalin going and caused me to drive faster than I should have?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69