If You Can Write Poetry, then You Can Write a Song...Most of the Time

in #music6 years ago

writer.jpg
Image from http://nodepression.com/article/how-write-about-music-letter-young-writer

When I was younger, I looked up to my older siblings a lot. One day, my sister had an assignment from her English Teacher to find her favorite song and share it with the class as a poem. I recall her listening to Nirvana in our bedroom for hours as she picked the perfect song. In the end, I believe she went with ‘Come as You Are’.

This made me think about all music in terms of what lyrics meant, and whether or not a Musician was good quality based on their message.

I began writing in journals when I was about thirteen years old. I used it as a form of self-soothing therapy. Sometimes I would just pen what I felt, or other experiences I was going through at the time. Then I tried poetry. I would not claim that my poetry is any good, or even if it could be classified as poetry, but I enjoy writing from the heart.

Earlier this year, I began writing some poetry about my family. My first influence of music in my life came from my mother. She always had a cassette playing in the car, especially on our three hour road trips to Grandma’s house, for which I wrote the following:

Tuning, to Grandma’s

I have each of my family members to thank for my love of music.

Whether it’s Alyssa’s love of Grunge or Dylan’s influence of Ska and Punk Rock.

Renee, who took me to my first concerts beginning at age nine.

Overall, my mother instilled a love of music as we visited Grandma’s.

John Denver took us on a “Rocky Mountain High"
The Beatles said “Here Comes the Sun,” and The Rolling Stones sang about “Ruby Tuesday.”

James Taylor told us about “Fire and Rain,” while Bob Dylan sang a story of “The Hurricane.”

Simon and Garfunkel taught us “The Sound of Silence,” and The Mamas and the Papas “California Dreamin’ “.
Don’t forget the “Mellow Yellow” Donovan or Steven Tyler’s hits with Aerosmith.

Funny to think, I took her to her first concert, Muse (2010).

Think about your favorite song. Does is have a good message? Could it be a poem? Enjoy listening.

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93