NAMM 2018: See Today's Finds, WARNING COOL GEAR INSIDE

in #music6 years ago

IMG_9733.jpg

NAMM 2018: See Today's Finds, WARNING COOL GEAR INSIDE


IMG_1645 copy.jpg

NAMM is one of those conventions that is far beyond just simply business. The people attending and exhibiting are music lovers, the convention is 100% fun, and people are there for the sole purpose improving music creation in one way or another.

If you didn't see my previous post about NAMM 2018, check it out here!

The Arrival


IMG_1650.jpg

^^^ That's me, @playitforward ^^^

Arriving at NAMM is a highly anticipated moment for me. I parked at the Anaheim Gardenwalk mall's parking and took the bus there. Arriving just a little after opening means the bus was basically empty. Today, it was partly cloudy and very windy. Walking to the badge will call tent worked out really well and only took a few minutes to be in and out. Once I got through the tent I proceeded through flocks and flocks of music lovers to the front of the convention center.

As soon as I got inside, I checked out a map to see the general layout of the show.

IMG_1671.jpg

For the first day, I decided I just wanted to explore and see where the show took me. Turns out it took me to the drum and percussion part of the show.

Sabian: The Magnificent Wall of Cymbals


Sabian has a really outstanding booth with a cymbal wall? I wonder what that thing actually weights. This was really cool how they had an art installation with the cymbal wall, and interactivity by allowing people to walk around and play their cymbals as well. Anyways, this was the best shot I was able to get before it started getting photobombed.

IMG_1657.jpg

The WalkaBout


This is an instrument that looked pretty unique. They took the body of a guitar, and made it into solely an acoustic/electric percussion instrument.

IMG_1660.jpg

Sonor


Admittedly, I don't know a ton about percussion instruments, especially drum sets. I came across this one and thought it was designed exceptionally well. Aesthetically this is one of the big beauties of NAMM thus far.

IMG_1661.jpg

Well done, Sonor.

IMG_1663.jpg

ATV


ATV makes this amazingly malleable percussive instrument called the A-Frame. The A-frame is like MPE for percussion. It holds sound manipulation using similar techniques as conga playing, but with electronic sounds. They have "Adaptive Timbre Technology" meaning you can bend the digital drum head and it makes incredible sounds.

Pioneer DJ


Ey @djlethalskillz

IMG_1676.jpg

They had really cool stuff, I always check them out. In fact, I also checked them out at CES this year. Their NAMM booth was too busy to check out today. I'll be keeping my eye out for these guys soon.

IMG_1666.jpg

Arturia


IMG_1668.jpg

All I can say about Arturia this year is WOW they have a lot of really cool stuff. Seriously, I listened to all the instruments that were available and they sounded amazing. I noticed that their kick drums really punch the woofer of their little speakers.

Countryman Microphones


IMG_1672.jpg

They make seriously good microphones especially for film and for live speaking. The B6 microphones that I have are able to be submerged in water, taken out and they work perfectly fine. For such a small capsule as the B6 has, this is a remarkable piece.

Look Solutions


This is pretty cool. This company makes battery-powered fog machines. Check out how this little guy works. But remember it comes at a steep price.

VOID - The Coolest Looking Speakers at NAMM 2018


I already know it, VOID wins my award for the COOLEST looking speakers of NAMM 2018. They all looked so sleek and futuristic.

IMG_1675.jpg

Raffles at UAD


Universal Audio is a company that makes the analog to digital interfaces, plugins, and everything else to save a modern producer's life. They have changed my life in so many ways in 2017 by using their plugins and interface to enhance my music beyond what I knew was possible before that. That's saying a lot because I've been around a lot of music gear.

Oh, and I didn't win the raffle for the UAD Arrow interface, but that's okay! There's always tomorrow! I'll do the producer's challenge tomorrow to try and guess what sound is software recreation that they make and what sound is the hardware.

IMG_1679.jpg

Soundbrenner


This is the first piece of wearable tech for musicians.


Source

Soundbrenner has the metronome called Pulse. It does just that, instead of having to listen to that maddening click, you can just feel it now. It's a way for bands to be in sync without having to hear clicks.

Synths


So, there are tons of different synth companies at NAMM. They are basically all really great too.

IMG_1685.jpg

IMG_1683.jpg

This Mixing Board Was Having a Good Time


Apogee


Apogee had a great booth today demonstrating those cool new mics and interfaces of theirs. Also, their instruments are great.

Their mic and voice changers are really neat.

Roland


For Day 1, Roland wins the coolest booth award. Their products are incredible this year.

IMG_9733.jpg

They had a Roland SPD One Drum Pad climbing wall. It sounded great too.

Their DJ-202 Rig was pretty cool. I probably should learn how to work it a little better though. I bet @djlethalskillz would love this thing.

The Great Wall of Treats! Here I was testing out a few of their new rackmount synthesizers and the revamped 808. The Roland TR-08. Seriously affordable at $350 and seriously amazing sounding.

Looking Forward


I have quite a line list of items I need to cover for the next few days including a few meetings. I'm greatly looking forward to sharing the rest of this journey with my fellow Steemians.

Steemians, please let me know how you think NAMM looks and if you like what I'm sharing in the comments below.

follow_playitforward.gif

Sort:  

I'm really jealous that you've been at NAMM. I hope to go some year. The new Arturia stuff looks great. I'm a huge fan of their vintage synth emulators, and of course the ever-trusty Micro Brute. Also, that roland wall looks like absolute HEAVEN! Did you look at any guitars at all?

Wow ,cool and nice missing machine,good image ,thanks for sharing to us here,upvote and comment also @horlly posts.

https://steemit.com/knotting/@horlly/the-simple-knot-oriental-knot-of-tye

Mah Man!! whaaaaaaaaaaaaat this is insane u making me soooo jealous lol i sooo wanna go to one of those NAMM's one day I dunno where to start u did a great coverage on a vast amount of new musical toys and technologies Kudos! haha and i see ur DJ tendencies that pioneer mixers with the screen in the middle looks insance sooo many great new stuff ...
My buddy was just telling me about this new tech for Dj's by 'phase_dj technologies they have this new thing to replace needles and the way we use turntables with time code, if u got the chance to peep that pls do I would love to know more about it and how it works.

Kudos on the shoutout, the dope information shared and Happy Namm'ing it! looking forward to catch up on Discord haha
Safe n Salute!

Is that a new control vinyl system? Sounds cool. I'd be interested to know more about it too.

I'm so stoked on the Line 6 HX multi effects, it's like the next-gen M9/M13, which were incredible pedals. I'm setting a personal goal to fund one through my use of steemit in the upcoming months. Enjoy your stay at NAMM!

Felt like a real lack of new synths when the show opened. I wonder if manufacturers are moving towards releasing at their own special launches outside of the trade shows. I’ve seen that in gaming and I wonder if that is being adopted more and more here.

All the big synths came before the show and Behringer didn’t attended yet announced a new semi-modular.

Roland seem to reserve things for 303, 808 and 909 days.

Times a changing.

Best thing from the show was the BlipBlox.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82