Thoughts on Avicii - TIM

in #music5 years ago

So 2 days ago TIM got released. I've listened to it 2 times so far, the first time was as soon as I got home on June 6th and second was just before I started writing this article. And as an Avicii fan myself I think they nailed this albums in terms of what it was supposed to be, a sort of tribute to Avicii himself.
So now my thoughts on the songs in the album, I'll go song by song as I think this will be the best way to write them down.

1 Peace of Mind.
That song instantly sets the tone of the LP. Other than that I can see it fitting into a movie possibly.

2 Heaven.
Oh the heaven. I've listened to it countless times before the album got released and frankly I preferred the Simon Aldred version more, but I understand that they had to tone it down a little bit because of the nature of the LP and Chris Martin of Coldplay was considered for this song for way longer than Simon Aldred.

I'll be skipping SOS and Tough Love since they came out before the album and I cannot give them impressions as fresh as for the rest of the LP.

5 Bad Reputation.
Not much to say about that one.

6 Ain't a Thing.
I like the sound of it but here's where the swearing starts of which is quite a lot in the LP compared to any other releases by Avicii.

7 Hold The Line.
Again, not much to say about that one, maybe the fact that I thought Arizona X Avicii collab was unlikely.

8 Freak.
Oh the whistle.

9 Excuse Me Mr Sir.
At first I thought it was out of place, but when I dove deeper into the lyrics I understood why it belonged in this LP.

10 Heart Upon My Sleeve.
Well, this is the one many of us have been waiting for for 6 years by now. Yet I do like the 'True' version more than the one from TIM. The 2013 version feels just more emotional, but still Heart Upon My Sleeve is one heck of a song.

11 Never Leave Me.
Another Good song, I liked this one quite a lot.

12 Fades Away.
I've had a soft spot for Noonie Bao since I heard Always on the Run and she did an excellent job here aswell. This song was also a sombre ending to the undeniably sombre LP.

If I could change anything about that LP I'd only remove some of the swears from songs, they just don't feel right for this sort of LP. But besides that, I think TIM is what we, Avicii fans, really needed to finish the mourning of this great artist.

Sort:  

Congratulations @polish-viking-or! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73