Writing and music - Thursday's musings

in #music6 years ago

piano-1655558_1280.jpg
Pixabay image

If you were to ask me what my favorite genres of music are, I would happily respond with classical and rock. I either like to be soothed by a full orchestra or moved by the sounds of heavy distortion; although, there are times when I find hard rock as equally soothing as classical music.

Much of the time, I like to listen to classical music while writing. It really helps me focus on my thoughts and tune out everything else. When writer's block is particularly bad, it helps me to relax and approach writing in a less frenzied and more relaxed manner.

This week has been an busy, emotional roller-coaster for me. There have been highs and lows. I've attempted to write more than once this week and haven't written a successful post until tonight. In large part, I owe this post to Beethoven. Without his striking compositions, I really wouldn't be focused enough to write this.

I go through stages with his pieces. For the last couple of years, my favorite piece has been the second movement of Symphony No. 7 - the Allegretto. There are many theories as to what this symphony is about. None of them that I've read theorize the symphony is about Napoleon; yet, every time I listen to the second movement, I imagine Napoleon and his armies confidently, yet somberly, marching toward war.

It's not depressing by any definition but it is serious. When listening to this movement, one gets the sense that whomever it may be about carries the weight of the world on his shoulders or desires the world. That's why Napoleon always comes to mind. I love this movement because it does stir such strong emotions. Maybe I, too, can conquer the world or so it makes me think. I can conquer this post at least.


Take a listen.

.

Do you agree? What are some of you favorite classical works?

Sort:  

I love rock and classical music too, music for me is very special, I listen to it in moments of aflixion, sad, happy, and especially when I travel. Music is a part of me. This Symphony is very nice!

I think I could say music is part of me too. It's definitely been an important part of my life.

I like some classical music and some rock. I'm weird though and don't rock out. It's not the music; it's me!

That's okay. You enjoy music however you want to enjoy music!

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

You're welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61