Songs That Will Never Leave My Playlist #3

in #music7 years ago

Header image showing Igit and YEBBA

It's been 2 months since I've talked about some music I love to listen to, that's a long time ago ! In this period I have discovered a ton of new songs but I will wait to see if they stick with me for longer than a month. I wanted to post something today but didn't really know what so I decided to share some fine music with you all. From now on, I will categorize the musics based on what Google tells me since I'm really not good at that. If it's completely off, you know what to blame it on... I'd say most of you already know three of the five following songs but that's still two to discover ! As always, I hope you will find something that suits your needs, enjoy !

Fuck Me Pumps by Amy Winehouse
R&B/Soul | Pop

I got reminded of this song recently with the first DTube embedding prototype which used it as an example. This song satirically talks about the girls we are used to call gold diggers nowadays. It tells the story of a woman who keeps dressing fancy to attract the eye of rich men but only manages to stay one night with them. Her dream is to marry a rich man but everyone knows it will never happen. It is a really catchy song and Amy Winehouse's voice just makes it perfect !

My Home by Igit
Pop

I know of Igit thanks to his appearance in the french version of The Voice. He actually went pretty far and was so awesome but lost in the semi-finale despite performing my favorite prestation of his. Let's face it, My Home is basically the same lyrics repeated for 3 minutes but it's so good ! It just fits his style so well, it's impressive. This song is a very light song bringing joy instantly in which he is inviting someone to live with him.

Molly by Lil Dicky ft. Brendon Urie
Rap

Lil Dicky is known for making funny but still well-written rap songs so when Molly came out, I was really surprised to see a total change of style. Expressing his emotions is something I would have never expected Lil Dicky to do and yet he did. At first, the clip seems to indicate that he is about to get married until you understand what's really happening. I don't want to spoil you so if you want to see what I'm talking about, just watch the clip ! This song proves that Lil Dicky can also be sincere and doesn't always have to be funny to write good music. Also, Brendon Urie is amazing in this one, I don't usually listen to him but it was really good.

Same Drugs by Chance The Rapper
R&B

I discovered Chance The Rapper with this song so it has a special place in my heart. I knew he existed before of course but didn't really care. Chance is so eclectic in his music, his album Coloring Book is so refreshing thanks to that. In Same Drugs, he seems to talk about drugs at first but you should quickly realize that it's not the case at all. What he actually talks about is his relation with a girl from his childhood deteriorating because of their interest not being the same anymore. With time, they changed, they stopped taking the same drugs.

Smoke by Luke Levenson ft. YEBBA
R&B/Soul

I didn't even do it on purpose but I just found out that YEBBA actually performs some voices in the Same Drugs clip. Smoke is what happens when two angelic voices decide to make a song together. YEBBA gets crazy with here voice throughout the song and Luke Levenson is there to be the calmer voice that still manages to make you fly in heaven. I'm so in love with this song, I'm so glad I decided to read the YouTube comments at the best time possible. I was watching a live performance and some users noticed YEBBA on stage being a backing vocalist, I don't know who they were but I love them.

If you liked this post and you want to see more, don't forget to upvote, follow and resteem !

Sort:  

Great post.

Many good songs here. Chance the Rapper's video was nice!

Thanks ! Glad you enjoyed ! ;D

Congratulations @ragepeanut! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54