7-Day Music Challenge: Your Top Albums - Day 1 Voyager Ghost Mile

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Hope I get all the rules right. I'm a newb so thanks for bearing with me!

I ran across this album challenge and definitely want to participate. So here's day one pick for me.

ARTIST: VOYAGER
ALBUM: GHOST MILE

I have all of their work, and this is their latest and one of their best. This band is impossible to categorize properly, but progressive rock-popmetal might come close. I've not heard any band like them, although on some of their older stuff you can pick out some influences, noticeably the Beatles on a few songs' harmonies, but no they are nothing like the Beatles over all. If you like something new that is intense, has meaning, has incredible musical layering, superb playing (all instruments - guitar, voice, keys, drums, bass), insightful lyrics and total groove going for it, then you have to check these guys (and girl) out!

ghostmile_albumcover.jpg

I have this song in one of my Youtube playlists... (is that the playlist that the rules are talking about? If there is a way to create a playlist in Steemit I have no idea where to start, so maybe someone can point me in the right direction).

First track of the album - ASCENSION
Great video effects on this track, what do you think?

The 2nd song on the album is equally incredible, and the rest of the album works wonders for me too, though for others you might need to sort of bone up on some of the prior Voyager albums to get the vibe from the balance of this masterpiece work of art.

Misery is only Company (2nd track on the album) - Enjoy!

NOTE: this track is silent at the beginning, just let it play through til about :19 when it kicks in and kicks ass.

Voyager-3.jpg

THE RULES

  • You need to pick your 7 all time favorite albums. Post one every day for seven days in a row.
  • One song (AT LEAST) from each album has to be in your playlist currently. Oh yeah, you also have to share this song with us through YouTube.
  • The Cover of the Album has to be the main theme of your post each day.
  • No need to explain why the specific album is a favorite of yours, but if you feel like it, PLEASE do!
  • Use #albumchallenge as a tag.
  • Last but not least, nominate a different steemian each day!

I'm new to Steemit so don't have a lot of friends, but I stumbled onto a blog post by @apple96 which featured acts such as Pink Floyd, Porcupine Tree (and other Steven Wilson collaborations), Riverside and more great progressive artist that I just had to nominate him here.

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention! :)

A tip, put simpler labels, for more vision! Normally people do not enter labels like "voyager". I recommend tag's: rock australian progressive

Regards!

Congratulations @realitynow! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72