Friends – Marshmello

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I listen to top 40 radio all day every day. There are a few songs that stand out amongst the crowd. “Never be the same” is one of them – so is “Friends” by Marshmallow.

After the second time hearing it this morning I decided to figure it out. One of my favorite things to do as a musician is to figure out songs and show others how to play them. I was an early contributor to the “Online Guitar Archive” – sometimes I come across music I’ve transcribed – usually my name is stripped from the music – but I can tell by the way its formatted.
“Friends” is a song I probably would have learned when I was a teenager. Its one of those songs that’s everywhere so people recognize it. When you play the first few bars on Guitar – people look up from what they are doing and get excited.
I don’t know anything about Marshmallow – what I do know is the song is interesting.
Why is it interesting? Like all pop songs “Friends” is the same chords over and over – but the song manages to have about 3 distinct parts to it.

The “riff” in the beginning is probably what most people will recognize. It’s a simple arpeggio that goes over the main chords of the song. The first three chords – Am, C and F are simple enough – it’s the next two where there is a few ways to play. If you are new and have problems changing - just go from F to E7. If you are not new – some people play E7sus4 – I slide the E7 chord shape up a fret so my ring finger is on the third fret on the A string (c note). On the recording you hear this played a little bit higher – instead of putting your ring finger on the third fret on the A string put it on the second fret of the D string – then with your pinky play the fifth fret on the high E string and pull off to the 4th.
When the song gets a little bit “rock” you can play fifths or bar chords to get a crunchier sound. I’ve been using open chords this morning – but im sure if I look at this song a second or third time I will make the arrangement more complicated. Strumming and muting are important in this one - if your learning it you should probably watch my strumming hand more than the other one.

Pop music is accessible everyone – hopefully some of you are inspired to learn a bit of this song yourselves!

Ryan Geddes is a writer, musician and entreprenuer located in Toronto Canada. When he's not writing, hes helping with House&Canvas Furniture Paint.

Sort:  

Good job! I would still stick to the original. Dude's name is spelled Marshmello by the way.

Thanks for the link.. Definitely a cleaner version to play along to.. The guys name isnt really Marshmello either its Chris :) Thanks for pointing out that this was one of those times where spell check got it wrong!

Lol Chris just sounds so weak though :) Can you imagine "Everybody put your hands together for... Chris" just sounds like a let down lol (Big supporter of Marshmello (or Chris). I was there for one of his first shows. Badass tunes


Acoustic Version - Am, C, F, Em

Listened to your blues bass - very cool - I do a lot of blues/jazz myself.. I just really get into these pop songs!

i am new user on steemit can i get 1 upvote please :)

I've find the song is really great instrumentally but I just get turned of by Anna-Marie's voice XD but yeah interesting post to read :D

I agree - I don't like the vocals at all - she sounds like whiny Gwen Stefani or something.. I learn whatevers is on the radio - this song just happens to big a huge hit right now!

great playing too btw :D

You got a 9.34% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @rgeddes!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Am, C and F remind me of the pop-punk/pop-rock era... I guess you don't necessarily need complicated chords to make the crowds excited.

Yes I agree - especially in the chorus - I believe they play 5ths (power chords).. The thing I love about Pop music is they can make something so simple have so many different "sounds" to it.. A 3 chord Ballad would be terribly hard to pull off!

True! When it comes to pop music, there are so many variables you can play around with such as base line, percussions and guitar strokes etc.

Nice talent. I do the same thing when I hear a song that sticks in my mind.

Thanks - I feel more connected to music when I have it in my hands.. Sometimes i'll do an arrangement (figure out the melody) - usually they leave my head quickly after they enter..

This ones still stuck in my head at least 10% of the day..

I started live streaming because I knew I would catch the otherwise lost magical music moments. You should try it.

You're live streaming your jams? Thats an interesting idea..

Yes! I invested hundreds of hours into Periscope and it was banned without the ability to return account privs.

I've come to DLive to attempt to rebuild myself with websites like http://www.trendingteam.com http://www.wanttosmash.com http://www.christiansutter.com http://www.findradiodjs.com http://www.ctsutter.com etc. I have over a dozen sites and have rebuilt them to ensure discussion of the previous banned account on Peri. I'm building myself for DLive. I do have a question there because I see a large watch count and it's reporting higher than the view count when streaming live. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=878738448976924&set=pb.100005223303036.-2207520000.1526670127.&type=3&theater Why does that happen? Are the analytics there slightly askew and in need of adjustment on @DLive? I have yet to do a lot of music offering myself up for gift SBD to those that want to hear me play a song at the moment. I'm trying to advance myself as a professional gamer that's not great at live gaming.

this is one of my favorite songs
Friends – Marshmallow

great song ! thanks for this moment 😇

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

postpromoter upvote in the amount of $58.63 STU, $111.01 USD.
smartsteem upvote in the amount of $56.44 STU, $106.86 USD.
appreciator upvote in the amount of $54.90 STU, $103.93 USD.
rocky1 upvote in the amount of $40.69 STU, $77.04 USD.
upme upvote in the amount of $39.61 STU, $74.99 USD.
buildawhale upvote in the amount of $36.46 STU, $69.03 USD.

For a total calculated value of $287 STU, $543 USD before curation, with approx. $72 USD curation being earned by the paid voters.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94