Queen City Music Lottery Showcase #5

in #music6 years ago (edited)

The Queen City Music Lottery is an annual event that puts together new bands at random. Anyone who wants to partake is invited to sign up, even if they have no musical experience. All the names are thrown in a hat, then 4-6 names are drawn at random, and now you're all in a band! Each band is given about 2 months to come up with a name and about 15 minutes of original music. No thought is put into what instruments anyone plays. Everyone has to figure it out. If you don't have a drummer, maybe someone can learn to play drums.

I have participated every year. The first year I learned to play synth for the first time. Last year I learned to play drums. This year I moved back to synth. We had a 17-year old high school student who decided to learn to play drums. He was a natural. Anybody can do this if they apply themselves. I am not a great musician by any means, but I do enjoy writing songs.

The band names are often a great part of the fun. It is like a competition to see who can come up with funniest, cleverest or most ridiculous name. It started off with 9 bands this year, but was down to 5 bands for the showcase, after 4 bands broke up. This year's line-up featured Broski!, Vincent & the Gallows, Party's Over, Solve For X, and the Final Countdowns (my band).

I should mention that this is not a contest. It's not a battle of the bands. All bands are winners. This is just a fun event to be creative and give people a chance to do something different. That said, some of these bands end up being really good.

DSC02070.JPG

Broski!

DSC02049.JPG

DSC02040.JPG

Vincent & the Gallows

DSC02026.JPG

DSC02027.JPG

Party's Over

DSC02020.JPG

Solve For X

DSC01974.JPG

The Final Countdowns (photo credit goes to J.P.)

I took all the photos myself except for the photo of my own band, taken by J.P. and used with permission.

Most bands never play again. Some play a couple more shows before moving on. My band is planning to continue. My band from the first lottery 5 years ago continued for over 2 years building up a bit of a local following. Here is a YouTube video of my former band Scajaquada Creeps playing a show a few months after the first QCML showcase.

Disclaimer: I use vote promotion and steem leasing services from Smartsteem and Minnowbooster. Both have approved me for their whitelist based on the content of my posts. I always wait at least one to two hours to buy any votes, so curators will have time to vote before any paid votes. I have leased steem to have more SP to upvote the cycling community. This means I must self-upvote to recover my costs and continue leasing steem. I wait a couple hours to allow curators to vote first. To sell your vote on Minnowbooster, use this referral link for an added bonus.

Sort:  

That seems like a really cool event! I expected too see more videos from the other bands but your former band was very groovy, I liked it!

Thanks! I'm looking for some videos other people have posted to link to on here, but so far it's been one video of my band without working sound. I'm trying to figure out the best way to go about posting live music performances. I want to make sure anything I make gets split with the bands. But I only took photos last night.

Here is the full set by Broski!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94