Favourite Music Saturday: Scars By Papa Roach

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I bet all of us have our own favorite music genre. Mine is always rock and metal including all those genres that related to it. I also bet we all have many favorite songs that we never get bored of eventhough it has been around for many years. I'm starting this series of post to highlight my favorite music, old and new, every Saturday because Saturday is when I find myself listening to a lot to music to relax.

Like I said in one of my previous post, music is one of hobbies. I used to play guitar a lot starting from when I was 13 years old. I had a few bands when I was younger but now I only listen to music most of the time.

I have many favorite songs, most of them are from the 80s until 2000s becaus that was when the era of awesome music was, at least for me personally. So this song is called Scars played by a band called Papa Roach. Weird name for a band but their songs were all very good. I know all of their songs from all of their albums. I can say that they were one of my favorite bands during their prime.

As you can see from the video and from its lyric this song is about fighting that inner demons in yourself. In this case it's alcoholism. This music video is quite unique because they lyric told the story about his (their singer Jacoby Shaddix) addiction to alcohol but in the video they portrayed a woman who is an alcoholic and he was the one that wanted to save her. I believe the reason behind it is because that woman played his inner demon that he have to fight to get out of his addiction to alcohol. This song was written based on his own life where battled his alcoholism and his marriage life. It was his wife was the one that tried to help him get through it.

I can really realte to this song because at one point of my life I was an alcoholic and it was so painful to overcome. I struggled a lot on my own in battling it and having a depression at the same time, it made things even worse. Sometime my thought can be very destructive and suicidal but I didn't let my depression take over me wholly so I still have some bit of sanity to save myself from myself.

Whenever I listen to this song it make me very thankful and grateful that I'm alive. Sometime I shed a tear not because I'm sad but more of a having that unexplainable feeling of being able to escape from alcoholism and depression on my own. It was not easy in fact it was so painful and agonizing that at some points I almost gave up and just end my own life. I wrote about it in one of my previous post if you want to read it.

Anyway, this is one of my all time favorite songs. I never get bored listening to it and I listened to it all the time even until now. It stayed in my playlist from the first day I listen to it. In fact when I was younger me and my band played this song at one of the battle of the band competition and we won second place... LOL!

What's your all time favorite song? The one that you always listen to like you can never live without it, literally. So keep listening to music, it can help you with whatever adversary you have in your life in many ways. It soothes the soul and mind.

760486 - reverse.jpg

My-Steemit-Post-Banner.jpg

Steemit-Steem-On-Animated.gif

760486.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing… it's a great song and with an interesting backstory. I do like a bit of rock and also appreciate you sharing some of your story that relates. All the best!

You're welcome!

My all time favorite? Thirsty Boots by Eric Andersen. Is papa Roche and relation to Maggey and Terri and Suzzy Roche?

Cool! I don't think they're related haha

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Instantly clicked because i recognized that face!

Hahaha a fan will surely recognize it

Played the song for old time sake. One of my favorite songs in uni and it does bring back so many great memories

Awesome! Same thing with mine :)

When it comes to rock and metal, let me think, bands coming straight to my mind are sex pistol, megadeth, guns n roses and sepultura, these big names..

Yup! Those are my favorites too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68035.11
ETH 3787.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63