You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Might Win On "The Voice" but I Think You Suck! (ruminations on the gamification of american culture)

in #music8 years ago

I agree music shouldn't be a competition but what do you actually think of their talent? Have you actually watched The Voice? What do you think of Christina Grimmie?

Sort:  

Talent is not art. Art is served by talent. Art needs discipline and technique and execution, these aspects are well addressed by the voice and satisfy 90% . Art however is less tangible, more personal. Many artists I love would most likely never even make it on the voice and succeeded despite being critically panned in their time. It would be a pretty narrow and boring musical world if it all was funneled through a game show mindset.
I've heard Grimmie, she was a great singer but art? performer for sure, but art? I'm not so sure.

"talent" to me is passion+hard work. All the time people say to me " but I'm not talented like you" and I think " no, you have no discipline or drive like me" My skills come from shedding, hour upon hour of practice, year after year. Still, what I get is skill! Talent is a myth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68433.35
ETH 3735.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66