Composition Diary 🎻/ getting stuck in one measure

in #music4 years ago

For my virtual composition camp, I need to write a solo piece for the viola, which is due this Sunday. Though I've been working on it for more than a month, it was only five days ago that I could finally write something that I was satisfied. I've worked on it every day for these five days and it was progressing very quickly. I've been constantly finding some interesting melodies, patterns or rhythms, about which I was quite happy since I've been spending a lot of time on it.

On Thursday, I had a meeting with my private instructor, who is a very talented pianist and composer. Though I was satisfied with I'd written so far, I was still nervous in case she didn't like my piece. If I had received negative feedback, I would have to rewrite the whole composition. Given that it is due Sunday, that situation would be quite difficult for me. Luckily, she liked my piece a lot! She told me that she found very clever the way I grouped my notes (it is consisting of 16th notes and the time in 4/4, but it sounds like the piece is consisting of triplets). She only told me to fix some technical stuff about the signs, dynamics and articulations, which is quite easy to do. She also gave me some suggestions for the rest of the piece since it was incomplete yet. Anyway, I was quite happy when our meeting was over! I was ready to complete the rest of the piece.

image.png
an excerpt from my composition

HOWEVER, yesterday I got stuck in one measure. I spent the whole day thinking and working on what may suit there, but nothing came. It was a transitional measure, meaning that I knew what was going to come after that. I just needed to write that measure to create that transition. I started working on it at 2 pm, and when it was 2 am, I was still stuck in that measure. The more I failed, the more I tried, which made the situation even more miserable because nothing was coming. I know that one cannot get inspiration every single day and if it doesn't come that day, you should just stop working and try another time. It is always better to get some fresh air and clean your thoughts. Though I knew it very well, the approaching due date made me stay and keep trying, which didn't result in the way I wanted.

It's a new day and I have two more days to finish my piece. I will try my best today to get over that one annoying measure and complete the rest of the piece!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76