Sounds of the Caribbean - SOCA - 2017 Recap Mix

in #music6 years ago

Introducing Soca Music:

Soca can be considered a modernized version of traditional Caribbean calypso, its roots in the West Indies - namely Trinidad - evolved from a blend of East Indian and West African rhythms, two distinct cultures that converged in the region in colonial times. Every year, beginning in summer, the soca industry churns out tune after hit tune in anticipation of the upcoming holiday season and carnival celebrations, which reach a crescendo in February-March. The genre is hugely popular across the Caribbean and beyond.

shorty.jpg

I first heard Soca music over a decade ago when my girlfriend played me the tune "Roll It" by Alison Hinds. I was intrigued by the tempo, the lingo and surprisingly beautiful melodies, a slight diversion from the reggae and dancehall I was accustomed to. I have fallen in love with soca since my first introduction and so, each holiday season I compile a mix of my favorite songs for the year to share with family and friends.

IMG_4766.JPG

I'm not DJ, but a big fan of DJ culture. I put together my mixes in a format emulating real DJ's and with effects and tonal arrangement that appeals to my senses. Listeners unfamiliar with Caribbean music will notice certain songs seemingly playing on repeat; this is because of what is known as a "riddim," something I'll explain in a subsequent post. Also reserved for another time is a discourse on custom voice tracks, something the astute listener will notice woven into the mix.

Soca in Love Vol2.jpg

To introduce new listeners to the genre, here is a recap of my favorite songs from 2017. My top picks for 2018 will drop just in time for the carnival season. No doubt, if you travel to any of the islands you'll recognize this music playing everywhere...Enjoy!

Sort:  
Loading...

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58