You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Purple

in #music6 years ago

Wow! This is really a cool video (and a beautiful song). I'm loving it!

Did you animate those shapes into a loop and then add a kaleidoscope effect and different coloring? Which editing software did you use?

I've been busy the whole day re-editing my first music video. It's so time consuming (especially, when you want to get it right). Going to write a post about it soon.

Sort:  

Thanks! As I watched this today I was wondering myself how in the world I did it. I think that was so long ago that I was using Windows XP. At that time, when new video suites would come out, I would buy the previous versions from Pearl.de for a tiny fraction of the cost. So I was using 3 or 4 different programs on that video. Nero was one of them, but I can't remember the others for sure.

It took hours to render it, then I would use that video in another program, adding layers. Then hours again... I used so many filters, I couldn't do it again even if my life depended on it ;-) I remember there were a lot of limitations. I would have liked to have taken the opacity of the kaleidoscope down so that the musicians were more visible, but lots of my wishes simply weren't possible. But at least it came close to the feel I was after.

Anyway, I'm really looking forward to you video -- man you are so right, video takes forever!!!!!

Yay, knowing about the process commands me even more respect ;-) Really well done and the > 30,000 views at youtube are fantastic. These days video editing has become a lot more user friendly and affordable, but it is still a science on it's own...

Thanks for your kind word, and coming for a profi that means a lot. This was a good place to present it, because I could share the backstory. This particularly video was more about the art/inspiration for the song, and not about the musicians. I completely understand music fans who were disappointed or frustrated because of that. After all, they came to the video to see the musician. Actually, the 30k views aren't too good, but I completely understand that. Around the same time I did another video which did much better, I'll share another time.

Like you, I've kind of moved on from video a bit. But you're right, and not only is the software better, but the computing power, storage, and transfer speeds are so much better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59445.54
ETH 2993.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74