Building My Own Guitar - Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music4 years ago

Here's part one of building my own partscaster. I was inspired by @amberyooper to finally finish this project that has been sitting around for a couple years.

This project started out a couple years ago when I went to the Chicago guitar show and bought this reject stratocaster body for around 30 dollars.

It has a big old knot in it, thus the body was rejected by the factory. I kind of think it looks cool there.

Here it is from the back. I can actually push the whole knot out if I wanted to.

Also someone had hand routed out a humbucker opening for a humbucker, this used to be a single coil opening. But I thought this was perfect because I had an old used hss pickguard I bought on ebay a while back.

Here's the loaded pickguard, it has lace sensor alumitones in it. These pickups are good in almost any genre and are really quiet for hum.

I got this off ebay as well. This was a rejected loaded pickguard, one of the pots or the switcher has something wrong with it. Possibly a cold solder connection. But the pickups themselves are good to go.

With just a bit of additional carving the pickguard set in place perfectly. The predrilled bridge holes line up as well.

Here's the new neck I got. This is a mighty mite neck from Stewmac. Its important to measure the neck pocket of the body first before buying a neck for the body. Otherwise you will have a tedious woodworking project on your hands lol.

I got the tuners from guitarfetish.com. These are staggard locking tuners as you can see the farther away from the nut the lower down the tuner head goes. This is to add more tension to the higher strings for tuning stability.

Here's the locking mechanism to the tuners. These allow you to clamp the string in place while tuning rather than having to wrap the string around the tuning post.

Here are all the parts in place, next step is rewiring the pickups and bolting everything down.

The bridge lines up perfectly with the screw holes. This is another important thing to measure before buying a bridge.

These are the fancy looking mother of pearl gold volume and tone knobs.
https://steemit.com/dtube/@sketch.and.jam/s8u1hinn9pv here's the finished project for now, I got the pickups working and the neck set and everything intonated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Awesome thing! Curious if it would change the sound with knot in or out :D Have fun, i am looking forward to hear that guitar!

Prolly not but the opening would scrape my picking arm. Here's what it sounds like

Posted using Partiko Android

juicy, enormous sustain for a Strat. what 'amp' did you go through?

Took me about 4 hours to setup since there was some woodworking and wiring involved.

Posted using Partiko Android

Perfect! Congratulations with guitar!

Posted using Partiko Android

Fortunately i didn't mess up too many things. I stripped a screw in the bridge though but its no biggie. Phase 2 is finishing the body with truoil and adding a wooden pickguard.

Posted using Partiko Android

The hole from the knot in the back can be filled with epoxy resin, putty on wood and sanded.

You read my mind. I thought about making a color resin of somekind to help fill in the knot more. Or turn the whole knot into a pick dispenser lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow !! Great job !!
It's my dream !!!!!
Congratulations it's perfect !

Should i leave the body unfinished or truoil it?

Posted using Partiko Android

Your question is a real dilemma ... :)
Personally I really like the unfinished way ...
But it's a story of preference ...
in any case, it's a really great job !

I definitely need to give a few more bouts of sanding in areas. I might be imagining but the lack of paint seems to make it sustain more than my poly coated guitars.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is awesome! (By the way, I really like your carpet too.)

Yeah my fiancee threw out my old carpet and got that one lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a sharp looking guitar! If it plays as good as it looks, it's going to be really cool!

Yeah it turned out pretty good. I have a burl walmut pickguard arriving sometime in the mail. I'll eventually transfer the pickups there. For the body i plan on tru oil finishing it. But i might let it live a while unfinished.

Posted using Partiko Android

That burl pickguard should look really sharp on it!
I was thinking about possibly using untinted Danish oil for the finish on my project. Do you think the tru oil is better, or just a different brand?

I never heard of danish oil i bet it is similar though. Truoil is meant for gun stocks and does end up tinting the wood a little darker but not much. Also there's tung oil that is pretty nice though it is a bit flammable and offgasses a bit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post has been curated by the bitcoin myk project. Tokens are available for this account you can trade for steem at: https://steem-engine.com/. Join our curation priority list to earn more tokens by registering at:

http://www.bitcoinmyk.com/register/

Visit our discord at: https://discordapp.com/channels/523971711733858364/523971711733858366

This post has been awarded 40 MYK

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 24% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62406.70
ETH 3184.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79