Cigar box guitar, hand drums and banjo with an east asian flare.

in #music5 years ago


This started out as improvising on my cajon, tar, doumbek and shakers. Later I added cigar box guitar and banjo. I also dug out my cheap midi guitar controller from under the bed to add some synth ambiance. Later I may do a version of this song with sitar instead of banjo.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Your video is so cool, there is so much effort that you've put into this one, it must have taken forever! Love the music And the fractals!

Thanks for listening. The drums took about 2 hours to record, after fiddling with bass, oud and sitar for a few days i landed on the cbg banjo combo. Fractal took a night to render.

Hey @sketch.and.jam, you definitely very creative. You can think of turn the object surround you into music instruments.. How you tune the cigar box guitar? It not easy to tune it. And I love the music rhythm which shown in the dtube. Not bad at all. You innovate which instrument first? and how you have this idea?

Thanks for listening :-). I tuned the cigar box guitar to fcf open tuning. This song started on the cajon drum, so i made the drums first then added the stringed instruments.

Niceee @sketch.and.jam, and the sound effect look like the actual one with add on some traditional effect. Good one. i wonder, besides these what other instruments you have invented. You really an innovation guy.

amazing what you do... I know in movies people do the sound effect with everything they got on their hands... but make music it's more difficult , i guess... let me tell you I love your talent and creativity.

When a read the name of the post I though it will be a madness. cause I wonder how that hell you can make sound with a cigar box? then a see the video and i got the answer

This is yet another really cool play and combination of all the instruments from you @sketch.and.jam. It gives me a very Aladdin and traditional Mongolian music feel. Such a beautiful music compilation. And using a banjo is brilliant as it sounded very organic. And I think a sitar would have similar effect too. Thank you for sharing you music with us! The cigar box guitar is cool :) Did you buy all your instruments?

The banjo was just the right instrument to cut through the mix. I tried using my sitar but it was too resonant and crowded all the other instruments out. I bought all my instruments but i want to try building a cigar box guitar one day.

That sounds really oriental, I could imagine the belly dancer appearing and giving us a good show. All the instruments are very well match together and the music they producing sounds really impressive. From such simple instruments but such great sound. Like the video you included all the possible instruments and that is great, so we can see that they are really taking part in the production of the music :)

Hey man I always love your jams
This is like if tool did a country jam 👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for listening, i hope tool comes out with a new album soon, in the meantime i'll have to make do with puscifer and a perfect circle.

This is so so cool and creative. It sounds amazing! When you talk about cigar box.. a few years ago I have attended a concert which was fully played with random things from household, including a hoover, a couple of plastic bottles, some decoration, etc. We laughed a lot but the sound was really good (just the performance was funny). It's amazing that you can make music with anything. I didn't think about it before.

But back to your song.. I see that you have different shirts on so I assume that you did it over a few days? It must me time consuming to record all those instruments but also amazing that you can create such music all by yourself. You are a very talented player. I'm sure you could play almost on anything (not sure about the hoover as you might need some practice first, lol)

Thank you for sharing!

Thanks for listening, this song took about 2 weeks to record since i only get two nights a week of spare time to record. I would play my vacuum but its plastic and doesnt sound that good :-).

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 72% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Hi sketch.and.jam,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Very nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78