Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Blackfield’

in #music5 years ago (edited)

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genre’s that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend or use the ‘Focus on’ series if you like. There are no rules, just make your own!

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

Are you all ready for some melancholy music? Don’t go listening to Blackfield and expect Barbie Girl and the likes or you will be disappointed.

When Aviv approached Steven and suggested a collaborative effort we were only going to be presented with harmonic melancholy songs.

Blackfield is essentially a duo of Isreali singer and songwriter, Aviv Geffen and ex-Porcupine Tree frontman and now solo artist Steven Wilson.

They have produced FIVE albums so far, but I am only fluent with THREE of them. After the first two, Steven started pulling away from the band and essentially left Aviv to his own devices.

The fifth and final album (so far) had Steven Wilson contributing more but seemingly with reluctance.

4hyvgiaqia.jpg

Source

It is no coincidence that I have overlooked albums 3 and 4 for this reason. In my opinion, the band would largely be a shell of itself if not for the input and creativeness of Wilson.

If I could categorise this band it would be the light pop arm of Steven Wilson. You don't get songs over five minutes in length, most are the traditional chorus, verse, rinse, repeat, and almost all appear to be written in minor chords.

Forgive my limited musical knowledge when I say this; whether the song is a ballad or a regular tempo it’s not going to be happy!

I had the chance to see Blackfield earlier this year in Manchester but declined when I discovered that Steven was not performing. Considering he sings most of the songs, I don't know how Aviv could pull off the show successfully.

0rgium0r7p.jpg

Source

In hindsight, I probably should have gone anyway, at least for the t-shirt. He did show up for the London Blackfield shows; sometimes it sucks living in the sticks.

I’m not seeing anyone else writing content using this theme yet. Please feel free to use the #alternativeweekend and or #focuson tags and the optional ‘Focus on’ title. I would like to hear some songs from bands that I have not heard before.

I will keep my eyes peeled for any more that have been written by others and dish out a generous vote out if I see any good ones.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Blackfield – Blackfield (Blackfield – 2004)


So this song is ‘Blackfield’ by ‘Blackfield’ from the album ‘Blackfield’. The irony of it all makes me laugh.

This is written by one of the most creative musical talents I know from modern times and just maybe the inspiration went out of the door when devising the naming of this song and of the album.

This is a good driven song with a strong verse and chorus, and probably the first offering I heard from the band. As with most of Wilson's material it immediately resonated with me and drew me into listening to the rest of the debut album.

It was also released a single so we have decent video too.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Blackfield – Epidemic (Blackfield II – 2005)

Aviv Geffen was already a successful singer when Blackfield was formed, but his vocals are a bit of an acquired taste. He has quite a strong accent when singing in English as one might expect.

An epidemic in my heart
Takes hold and slowly poisons me..

The chorus vocal style may not be to everyone’s taste but this song soars and mixes guitar and heavy strings in a typical menagerie from this duo. One of the best from Blackfield II.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Blackfield – From 44 to 48 (Blackfield V – 2017)

This song reminds me only in the context of Lukas Graham's, 7 years song. I'm not a fan of this song but I can see the similarities on what it offers in terms of a story.

Steven’s version has a shorter lifespan but I really love the lyrics and can relate to them, although the age accuracy is not correct in my personal life tale.

‘From 44 to 48’ is a super easy listening song, extremely accessible and good to listen for grandma as well as you the reader. This video has lyrics overlaid, as you really need to see them to get the best out of it.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Blackfield – Pain (Blackfield – 2004)

As I mentioned above it does strike me that most of the offerings best from Blackfield come from Steven Wilson, but this one from the debut album is firmly in the shoes of Aviv Geffen.

This is probably my favourite from the first album and has it all, harmonies, a great chorus, fantastic outro and to top it all a decent video too. At least Aviv would have pulled this off in the recent concerts.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Blackfield is a more easy listening band than others that I generally write about. From what I read, Aviv forbids Steven from performing huge guitar solo's so that the songs fit into the more radio-friendly category.

I seriously doubt that many have heard any of these songs before. Blackfield is not exactly a popular band.

I really need to get around to listening to the two albums that I have missed. I can’t say I am really taken with Blackfield V except the track mentioned above.

The first two albums are a little patchy but have some great songs not mentioned in this article. I would advise initially checking those out if you want to listen further if you like what you hear.



Other articles in the ‘Focus on’ series:
Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Karnivool’
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Tears for Fears'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Cranberries'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Kate Bush'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Smiths'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Radiohead'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Rush'


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Hey @slobberchops, as being a music lover #alternativeWeekend is another great source for my ears.

Let‘s see if lazy detlev will do a Post the next days about some of his #AlternativeWeekend music

Now I will listen to your stuff while enjoying a relaxing Saturday.

Steem on!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Let‘s see if lazy detlev will do a Post the next days

Looking forward to it, get some beer, drink it and start typing... ;)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 328 (12/02/18)

Great vibes for my weekend, thanks for the musical hints, checking them during breakfast now 😎🤙

I am going to add this to my Spotify list to check out sometime this week. Thanks for the reviews!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.172 which ranks you at #2985 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2993).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 175 contributions, your post is ranked at #140.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 137 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 12.03% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03