Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Karnivool’

in #music5 years ago (edited)

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genre’s that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend or use the ‘Focus on’ series if you like. There are no rules, just make your own!

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

There’s some bands that I find are just so hard to crack and by that, I mean I can hear some potential in their music but it’s just not clicking. Maybe this is the reason that I miss so much good music. Sometimes I don’t try hard enough.

Dream Theater are an example of this, I have tried and tried to listen to 'A Change of Seasons', in this case a song recommended to me by @verhp11 but it just didn’t click.

The band I will write about today are almost an example of this. One song ‘Themata’ I had to put on repeat play in my car until I finally got it.

The great thing about these ‘inaccessible’ songs is that once they click, you start to hear more and more in the music. Subtleties that were not apparent in the first twenty listens start to become more noticeable.

o4nuoxtvbv.jpg

Source

Yes, I’m not like anyone else it seems. It takes me a lot of plays to hear what I want to hear. Just call is a curse.

Karnivool are an Australian alternative band who are more on the heavy side. I could have used ‘Metal Weekend’ quite easily but am now dedicated to my ‘Focus on series’.

I’m not seeing anyone else writing content using this theme yet. Please feel free to use the #alternativeweekend tag and the ‘Focus on’ title. I would like to hear some songs from bands that I have not heard of before.

I will keep my eyes peeled for any more that have been written by others and dish some votes out if I see any good ones.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Karnivool – Simple Boy (Sound Awake – 2009)

What a grungy sound this is. I think of sandpaper when listening to this, the background sounds are so course. The first track on Sound Awake is a good one but needs a few listens.

These guys are not your regular chorus, verse, chorus, verse and if I can make any comparisons it would be to metal progressive monsters, Tool.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Karnivool – Themata (Themata – 2005)

The title track to their debut album must be good, it’s the title track, isn’t it? Good or not, the number of listens this took me was well into double figures before I started listening and hearing the sounds.

I have been listening again recently, but now I can hear it instead of a wave of sound going in one ear and out the other, I really like this song.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Karnivool – All I Know (Sound Awake – 2009)

This is the song that brought the band to my attention. Catchier than most of the rest with less metal, it does get going close to the end and gives the heavy listener some gratification.

I think this was a single as there is a decent video for it. The song still took me many plays to sink in, but if anything I have now overplayed it.

This is a good introduction to the sound of the band and probably the most accessible song I have heard by them.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Karnivool – New Day (Sound Awake – 2009)

If you are a fan of this band you might say, ‘Nothing from Asymmetry?’. The band have released THREE albums but much as I try the final album is just not hitting me.

The single from it’, Eidolon’ I have listened to umpteen times but it’s just not working.

‘New Day’ was a little like this but I have started hearing it just recently. This is a meaty song that ranges from acoustic to metal. If you are a normal person it will probably sink in quite fast.

Karnivool are a somewhat progressive alternative band with a decent amount of metal thrown in. Don’t be put off listening to them by my ramblings of inaccessibility. The band does have something and are worth a listen.


33xz0etc68.jpg



Other articles in the ‘Focus on’ series:

Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Tears for Fears'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Cranberries'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Kate Bush'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Smiths'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Radiohead'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Rush'


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I'm hearing some Tool in there It think. There was another band in there too, but I'm damned if I can remember who. It's a bit too nu-metal for me, but the singer has a great voice and good pitch, or they have a really good pro-tools operator.

I had to look up 'pro-tools operator' and I'm still not sure what one or 'it' is!

Never heard of this band before, but I might just check them out. I am a firm believer that new albums should be listened to through headphones in the dark. I feel like you get more from them that way. I don't get the chance to do it as much now that I don't find myself ever buying full ablums, but occasionally there is something that comes out which prompts me to give it the old headphone/dark listen.

Oh I definitely enjoyed it very much, while I was kinda expecting something not quite to my taste when I read your experience. I've said it before, enjoying a particular taste in music is something you really can't force upon yourself.

Ah good, I wish some others would do some of these. I could do with some new music to listen too.

Well, there might be one coming up from me. I do enjoy writing these once in a while ;)

Wow, this is good.... It's a bit of my akwardness... But I tend to listen to the drum sound a lot, and this drummer has a great snare-sound !!... but overall the band sounds awesome... I'm not sure yet on which band this reminds me, sounds familiar... But awesome band... Will add this to my playlist :) Thanks !!!

I heard that bass players have a connection with drummers. Is that what it is? I don't have any knowledge about such things apart from hearsay.

Yes they do indeed, Drummers and bassplayers are really depends on one and another, so they often are tight within a band cause of the 'drums and bass' :)

Hello @slobberchops, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 321 (11/24/18)

Well done on choosing this band! They’re pretty awesome... a couple of the members, including the lead singer, formed Birds of Tokyo, which is slightly more pop-oriented. But you can hear the same vibes...

Themata is awesome.

I keep reading about Deadman too. Will put that on repeat play next!

Thanks, I'd not heard of them before and I always enjoy exploring the work of new/unfamiliar bands. Cheers!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 160 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86