Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Talking Heads’

in #music5 years ago

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genre’s that I am more familiar with.

c7ngqytvhd.jpg

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend or use the ‘Focus on’ series if you like. There are no rules, just make your own!

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


33xz0etc68.jpg

My introduction to this band was during my software piracy days around 1984. I was a poor lad working at Kwiksave and couldn't afford to buy games for my Atari 800 Home computer. I had found a small community in the city of Manchester, not exactly close to my home.

The local cracker was a misguided unsociable freak by the name of RobC. He was so famous on that platform that his legacy still remains on the internet over 30 years later.

To me, he was the goto guy for new games. He lived with his parents in a huge detached property in Chorlton-cum-Hardy where I would visit him every 2 weeks to get the 'new stuff'.

This tale is not about my terrible acts of piracy though, it's about Talking Heads. You see, RobC seemed to play the Remain in Light album near constantly at least for a few months during my visits.

This album is extremely industrial and not like most of their others. It suited RobC well I guess as he used to code in HexaDecimal, I kid you not. Having droning songs like these in the background helped him eradicate that nasty software protection so we could rip off the disks and play for free.


33xz0etc68.jpg

Talking Heads – The Great Curve (Remain in Light – 1980)

Here's a six-minute song with no chorus, quite typical of material from this most excellent album. Listen to that screeching guitar going wild at multiple points.

We didn't really hear these kinds of sounds until much later in the 1980s, such pioneers they were.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Talking Heads – Listening Wind (Remain in Light – 1980)

I had to include another song from my favourite 'Industrial' album, though this breaks the mold and does have a chorus as well as verses.

This is a more mellow song and has a lot going on in there in terms of sound effects.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Talking Heads – Slippery People (Stop Making Sense – 1984)

When I hear Slippery People I think of 80's nightclubs. When this came on the floor got filled with dancing people, guaranteed. Outside of clubs you never heard it, it failed to chart but as a club song, it was right up there.

I was trying to find the version with David Byrne in the fat suit, but it seems you have to pay to watch that version.


g9pv4ubd1t.png

Talking Heads – Psycho Killer (77 – 1977)

This song just has it all, David Byrne will his crazy vocals, 'Ayayayayay', which defined him as unique.

This one is my preferred flavour of the song from The Old Grey Whistle Test. Yes, you have to be really old to remember that.

Here's a short interview with David Byrne wearing that crazy suit. To enter a club in 1985, you had to dress very stylishly, with a tie and a jacket.

Stupid sized shoulders were the thing to have, but he took it a little further. I wonder what he thinks of it today.


33xz0etc68.jpg



Other articles in the ‘Focus on’ series:

Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Blackfield’
Alternative Weekend: Focus on ‘Karnivool’
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Tears for Fears'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Cranberries'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Kate Bush'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'The Smiths'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Radiohead'
Alternative Weekend: Focus on 'Rush'


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Chorlton-cum-Hardy - sounds like something out of League of Gentlemen.

Love these historic English posts that give people's ages away!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's quite posh, I think.

It sounds it. With Royston Vazey undertones maybe?

Posted using Partiko Android

Possibly (I'm giggling).

Posted using Partiko Android

I might have to watch some league o gentlemen now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh dear, you've just moved to that kind of place, haven't you?

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought I might have until 200 people showed up to that extinction event last week.

I really like it here... nothing going on. It's perfect when you've got shit online to be getting on with.

Posted using Partiko Android

200 is not bad going! I guess as long as there's a nice pub in walking distance you don't need much else. There's a nice pub here, but it's a long walk; a micro pub round the corner, but that's micro! I usually walk ten minutes to a nearby hotel with a nice lounge bar, take my knitting with me.

Oh dear, you've just moved to that kind of place, haven't you?

Posted using Partiko Android

Great band, although I find the 2-CD Sand in the Vaseline compilation more enjoyable than any of the actual albums.
The Stop Making Sense film is very good. A simple but effective device to impart a narrative arc to a concert. Neil Young tried a similar, but less effective version in Live Rust.
If you want a different angle on Remain in Light, try Angelique Kidjo's version. It's similar but different.


Her take on 'Once in a Lifetime' is probably the least effective of all the songs, which is a shame (and the video is soo cheesy).

Well... its certainly different. I did listen to the full song.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 335 (12/09/18)

Great post! I really only know their stuff that was popular in the states. I do remember I pulled down some more obscure stuff when I was downloading MP3's, but I don't know as though I ever listened to any of it.

I would have said I was never a fan of alternate music, but i guess it shows how little I know as I do like Talking heads and the songs you selected

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.172 which ranks you at #2985 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 185 contributions, your post is ranked at #172.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 11.36% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86