I covered a song and this is what happened

in #music6 years ago

✨✨ Covering a hidden gem of Czech early 00s Pop-Music won't be all too hard, right? Right. ✨✨

I have an entire external hard drive dedicated to unfinished song ideas, demos that will never see the light of this world and things I like to call Work-In-Progress-Projects-To-Be-Abandoned-Soon. I decided to set one of those projects free and release it.

MeBW copy.jpg

We're in the late 2010s and you don't necessarily need talent to make music. Yes, I know that and that's why I use tons of autotune and synths to cover my lack of talent mixed with the never-ending sea of self-doubt.
Despite my apparent lack of musical talent, I happened to be in a few bands in the past. I now rather work with bands on photographic and design matters – That's more fun. But secretly (that means "friends of friends know"), I've been running this Synthpop project called WRTRM.

WRTRM = Warteraum = Waiting room.

Please refrain yourself from asking why it is called "waiting room". I don't know. It's the same deal as why one of the songs I'm currently working on goes under the name "610".
I could tell you, but then I'd have to kill you. Joking aside, let's get to what this should be about.

A cover.
A cover of a Czech Pop-Song.
A cover of a song named "Tanečnice", originally released by Tata Bojs in 2001 or 2002.
Sounds fun, right?

The fully recorded instrumental cover was sitting somewhere on its digital shelf since 2016. I never forgot about it, I just never felt like finishing it and never got around it. Until recently.
And being that edgy Batman-voiced lady running around the world in Alexander McQueen sunglasses 24/7, I thought it's a great idea to record the song in the original language. But Czech is a bitch, I happen to have a heavy lisp despite being a native speaker and replacing every Ř in the lyrics (and there's a lot of them!) with a shallow sh-sound made me sound demented.

And so... "Tanečnice" became "In Waves".

And here it is.
An Industrial-ish, Electropop abomination with vocals that literally drown in pitch correction for all the obvious reasons.
Everything you hear was recorded by me, myself and I. Including the guitars. I don't even play guitar. Vocals laid down and edited somewhere in Stockholm a few weeks ago. Here you can read about what I was up to besides recording this.
Bittersweet tristesse!
And I still think that the instrumental version is infinite times more intriguing.

For the karaoke-fans among you... The lyrics are below. It's loosely based on the Czech original and I left my favorite passage in its original language for the sake of added weirdness.

"The sailing boats that sink, the little joy that she brings, too weak to spread her wings
She breaks the ice to see the damage done to me, she knows that we'll never be

Breaking her trust, the wind blows and we know that she knows once you get too close
In waves she'll be as we part and we know that it's hard once you break her heart, break her heart

Lie to me now cause I need you around
In waves and sand we go down, holding me close as we drown

She keeps her secrets locked, in silence as she walked towards the sea in the dark
She breaks the ice to see the void between you and me, she knows that we never speak

Bringing her back as she flows and you know that she knows once you get too close
In waves she'll be as we part and we know that it's hard once you break her heart, break her heart

Lie to me now cause I need you around
In waves and sand we go down, holding me close as we drown

Malá mořská, malá mořská, malá křehká společnice lehká
Malá mořská, malá mořská, malá křehká tanečnice lehká"


In case you want to know how the actual version of the songs sounds like... There it is and we're worlds apart. Now go go go listen to my cover before the copyright hunters get me. Or not...

With that being said I'm gonna wrap up for now. Stay safe and don't do anything that I wouldn't do. 💁🏻

– Stacy The Cool Cat

Sort:  

Congratulations @stacyisacoolcat! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61