Big Band Series Part 13, Last Big Band Concert and last post of the series, May 22nd

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Yikes part 13! Isn't that a bad luck number? I need a donut. Is 13 a bad luck number in your culture?


Today's encore-like performance is in a local high school's auditorium. We will be performing after several other high schools that are visiting. No, we are not a high school. We are the only college band.


This is my last performance with this band... until next semester... probably... maybe... is shouldn't stop.

It's kinda healthy...

I hope the other bass player brought an amp, or she will be using mine. I'm not interested in resetting all my amp's controls for her instrument. I'm not interested in fidgeting with my bass's control knobs while trying to read music, watch the director, lock-in with the drummer, and more. I'm tired of having a fragile focus at the concerts. I'm starting to hate the double bass instrument, but don't tell anyone. It's not true, the sock technique I revealed in the previous post makes me much happier.

So far, traffic sucks. This performance is the farthest distance I've ever had to travel for this big band. Different direction, and different set of freeways altogether. I'll be on freeways that I haven't be on since I was a kid. I'll need to recall the smoothest lanes. I drive a manual transmission. My goal is to push in the clutch as little as possible. I love following trucks. They can see farther and they have the same approach. "Work smarter not harder."

I wonder if I'm going to have to pay for parking. The price of gas is more than usual and the distance is greater. My cost for this performance is probably more like $10 instead of the usual six. That's assuming the usual six was accurate. Six what? Who cares, it's fucking expensive after a while.

I wish I had numbers for our neighbor @mathowl to help me with. It's cool though, I've been under estimating the entire time and my grand total is way over what I thought it would be.

Jail pay.


Looks like an automobile prison.

I eventually arrive at the venue. Side roads were smooth and I timed the lights so that I could do lots of coasting. Minimizing gas mileage can be like a game.

There are slight signs of rain and parts of the are look a little wet already. School is out and I can see my friend's (the drummer) VW. It's the same one you might have seem me in if you are an old school @steelparade fan.

Good new! I am grateful! The parking is free parking! Possibly free because it's a high school venue. We don't even need parking permits. The security guard like me because I look like Jesus. I like him because his golf cart car sweet chrome rims.

It's a shame I didn't get pictures of all this. My hands are usually full and ... blah, blah, blah.

Let's get to the good stuff.

Final Concert:


This concert involved several high schools and our college big band. We are the closers. This audience will contain the other students that performed before us.

It's casual in appearance and in performance. The high school students are goofing around and they look happy. I didn't wear black. It's not like a funeral this time. 😁

We won't be playing all of our songs for this performance. We are playing a short set seen here in this text from the big band director.


img_5669


🎥 Big Band Final Concert broadcast:


Wow, that really is a great title.

Click here if you want to start from the beginning of the broadcast: https://www.pscp.tv/w/b7a_7DFtTUtQdldZa3lnRUd8MXZBR1JXcExWd1BKbJmydEiWz9FmmmMyERFmzWQI7EAnm8vo4MMZpnuWlES2?t=4s

Click here to skip to a swing tune called "In A Mellow Tone" at 2:32.

Click here at 7:10 to see me and the other bass player switch so that I can perform "Summer Neve Ends."

If you don't like that song skip to the next song by clicking here for 11:55. It's the jazz standard that our bass player sings called "All Of Me." It a swing tune.

It's almost done and if you're ready for the second to last song of the performance, click here. At 25:44 the bass player and I switch again so that I can perform "Caravan."

The last song is once again "Sir Duke." Click here at 34:23 to hear and see it.

That's the last song. No more notes for this band in this configuration in this semester. Thanks brothers and sisters. Thanks cousins.

These broadcasts have been presented to you via my Tetrahedroseph Periscope profile. I wish it was a Steem platform. Anyway, check my Periscope profile once in a while if you're wondering what musical endeavors I'm currently into. It's probably gonna look like a lot of Steel Parade performances.

Click the image below to follow me on Periscope. Don't give me super hearts. It's a scam. They don't pay shit and it's a usually a waist of your money because most recipients can't achieve Periscope's difficult withdrawal requirements.


img_5660


Bass player caught discussing gear via hidden camera! Click here at 42:42 to hear them talk about their dirty little bass pickups.



🔈Bass Amps:


When I first arrived I thought I would use someone else's bass amp. As the other performances progressed, I got a funny feel. A feeling that I would rather be safe than sorry. I brought my own amp in and I was glad I did. Stick with what I know and avoid laziness.

I was happy when I discovered the other bass player brought her bass amp. Since I'm talking about that now, I'll reveal my secret about reducing feedback on a double bass...

🔑 Bass Player Lesson:


Stick a sock in it! Seriously, put socks in the F-holes and most importantly. Thread a sock between the strings located below the bridge. The bridge is the wooden part that is below the spot where they pluck the strings.

Funny thing related to this. One of the high school bass played had the same type of pickup on his bass and didn't have feedback issues. His plucking hand looked comfortable too. I'm now convinced the bass amp our bass player uses was contributing to her feedback issues. Not the only contributing factor, just half of it.

Sad thing related to all this is another one of the high school students play bass didn't even have an amp. I felt sorry for him. He started off with his index finger wrapped in tape. It got in his way, but it didn't matter because we couldn't hear him anyways. He probably killed his finger for nothing. I never got a chance to help him. His private lessons instructor should have steered him away from this long ago.

Luckily the band had a Tuba to give them a tonal reference. I love tuba. It's right next to him. The tube can play lower notes than the 4-string bass. I was wondering if they had the same music. Probably not.

I ❤️ Tuba!

f9f34b23-4204-4db8-b032-04c81d02730d

What is Big Band?


I talk about bass a lot. Do you know what a double bass is? It's also called a "standup bass". It's also called a giant violin. It's called a lot of things that wold make this post NSFW, but I'll refrain.

Did you know there was more than one type of saxophone?

Did you know there were various types of basses? I play an electric bass. To be more technical it's called an electric 4-String bass. It might be considered one of the more traditional types of electric basses, if I may dare label. There are 5-string, 6-string, and more types of electric basses.

Are there different type of trumpets? Yes, there are. The bugle, the piccolo, and the cornet would be an example of three. Is a flugelhorn considered a trumpet?

Hey look the other band has percussion. I liked this percussion player. He wan't too loud, and that's good. I would almost encourage him to play with his personal dynamics more. He is probably counting the measures profusely and that would explain why he looked like a robot while he was performing. (I do the same thing sometimes.)

You can't see the percussionist's hands because they being are blocked by a music stand/percussion table. The music stand is flat and it has a black towel on top. This makes it easier for the percussionist to set down percussion instruments without making sound. Sometimes they change instruments for different parts of the songs during the middle of the song.
We had a percussionist in our big band, but he acted kinda... not good... intermittent attendance is kinda lame. I talked about it in previous posts. Let's be early. Let's be relaxed.

💵 This is it. This will be the final cost and expense entry. No more rehearsals, no more concerts, nothing until next semester.

The total from my previous post's (second to last concert's) expenses was $256.30. This one final time, I'll add the outdated estimate of $6 for the cost of gas and parking also. I said parking was free, but have a feeling it's almost $6 anyway. The new total is $262.30.

That is it. This is the grand total for this musical journey. $262.20 is a good price for an education. I am grateful.


This list of previous posts now includes the payout amount for each post in this big band series. This information was attainable thanks to https://steemworld.org. I'm adding it to encourage user to SwitchToSteem.

List of earnings on my previous big band posts:


1. "2019 Big Band Series Warning from Steemseph" https://steempeak.com/music/@steemseph/caution-2019-big-band-series-from-steemseph-coming-soon or https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/caution-2019-big-band-series-from-steemseph-coming-soon earned $0.881

2. "Big Band Rehearsals 1 and 2 February 2019 Part 1" https://steemit.com/steempeak/@steemseph/big-band-rehearsals-1-and-2-february-2019-part-1 earned $12.041

3. "That guy who plays Monday night Big Band bass. Part 2 Rehearsal 3 scrambled and ticketed" https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/that-guy-who-plays-monday-night-big-band-bass-part-2-rehearsal-3-scrambled-and-ticketed earned $2.022

4. "That guy who plays Big Band bass gives an update. Part 3: Rehearsal 4 is neat and parking tickets suck." https://steempeak.com/@steemseph/that-guy-who-plays-big-band-bass-gives-an-update-part-3-rehearsal-4-is-neat-and-parking-tickets-suck earned $1.477

5. "Big band Part 4: Rehearsal 5 Fancy Gear goes boink and a percussion lesson." https://steemit.com/steempeak/@steemseph/big-band-part-4-rehearsal-5-fancy-gear-goes-boink-and-a-percussion-lesson earned $1.663

6. "That bass guitar guy who plays bass in a Big Band Part 5: It's rehearsal 6. Do We Sound Better?" https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/that-bass-guitar-guy-who-plays-bass-in-a-big-band-part-5-it-s-rehearsal-6-do-we-sound-better earned $0.774

7. "Big Band Part 6, Rehearsal 7 for a concert that will cost me $126.30!?!" https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/big-music-is-big-band-part-6-rehearsal-7-for-a-concert-that-will-cost-me-usd126-30 earned $13.437

8. "Big Parking Ticket Big Band, Part 7 April 2nd, 1st Concert: I get a $100 parking ticket loading equipment for the schools event." https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/big-parking-ticket-big-band-part-7-april-2nd-1st-concert-i-get-a-usd100-parking-ticket-loading-equipment-for-the-schools-event earned $2.751

9. "Really Short Big Band Music Video I made back in 2017" https://busy.org/@steemseph/caka3934 https://d.tube/v/steemseph/caka3934 earned $1.091

10. "Big Band Series Part 8, rehearsal 9 because I skipped rehearsal 8 to do income taxes on April 15th. https://busy.org/@steemseph/big-band-series-part-8-rehearsal-9-because-i-skipped-rehearsal-8-to-do-income-taxes-on-april-15th earned $2.766

11. "Maximizing My Big Band Experience: DIY art used in the next big band post." https://steempeak.com/ntopaz/@steemseph/ntopaz--steemseph--671268189--ntopaz-music-bigband-jazz--2019-05-31-14-11-23--artwork--none earned $1.165

12. "That guy who plays bass in a Big Band Part 9, Rehearsal 10: Grey skies on April 29th and silly bathroom images." https://steempeak.com/music/@steemseph/that-guy-who-plays-bass-in-a-big-band-part-9-rehearsal-10-grey-skies-on-april-29th-and-silly-bathroom-images earned $1.188

13. "Monday night Big Band May 6th 2019, Part 10, Rehearsal 11." https://busy.org/@steemseph/monday-night-big-band-may-6th-2019-part-10-rehearsal-11 earned $7.348

14. "That Guy With A Big Band Series Part 11, Rehearsal 12, May 13th 2019: Dress Rehearsal for Friday's Second Concert." https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/that-guy-with-a-big-band-series-part-11-rehearsal-12-may-13th-2019-dress-rehearsal-for-friday-s-second-concert earned $4.690

15. "Big Band Series Part 12, Second to last official concert yet still the grand finale." https://steempeak.com/music/@steemseph/big-band-series-part-12-second-to-last-official-concert-yet-still-the-grand-finale earned $0.723

16. "Big Band Series Part 13, Last Big Band Concert Big Band and last post of the series, May 22nd" (active)

Entire Series's payout total $???
(I guess, we'll NEVER KNOW!? By the way, the "$" represents a currency similar to the dollar.)

Estimated series payout total $54.017!!!

The End


Thanks to everyone that supported posts in this series. Thanks for the comments and the inspirations. Thanks for the practical suggestions. THANKS to https://www.palnet.io/ Thanks to @steemflagrewards, send them all your money.


🐙 THANK YOU for reading this post, leaving comments, and upvoting! 🐢


This post has been created with https://busy.org/. It may also appear on Wordpress, but rest assured, my links come back to us here at Steem!!!https://busy.org/@steemseph

photo jun 04, 7 18 04 pm


has new music on BandCamp here: https://tetrahedroseph.bandcamp.com/music


steemseph bathroom wall 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97