EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW: Michael Sweet (STRYPER)

in #music4 years ago

michaelsweetMN.jpg

On the health status of Stryper guitarist Oz Fox who was hospitalized after a seizure and found to have 2 lesions on his brain. And what it was like to tour as a trio without Oz Fox...

Oz is doing better, he's been on a really healthy diet and doing a lot of things holistically that are really good for him. He is still feeling good, there are still questions that are unanswered with what's going on because a biopsy hasn't been done yet and a surgery hasn't been done. There are still a lot of variables and unknowns. He is in a good place right now, doing well and feeling strong. It was interesting touring without Oz, he's a staple in the band and in the set. It's difficult because we have a lot of duel harmony guitar parts, it's difficult to pull that stuff off with one guitar. Whether it's just me doing it or just him doing it, it's impossible to do. We gave our all and our best, we did our best to pull it off. I wanted to respect Oz so a lot of times I didn't play a solo over his solo section, I just played the rhythm. That's what I felt comfortable doing. I could have just up there and jammed and played solos all night long but I didn't feel like I needed to do that. The greatest thing about that run and that tour was the acceptance from the fans, the Australian fans, the people came out to support us, they were very accepting to what was going on and everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves and the reviews were really good.

How Michael Sweet first found God...

The way I came to know God was the family accepted Christ through [well-known Pentecostal evangelist] Jimmy Swaggart, believe it or not, on television. We were watching him on television, and then watched him again and then again and again, week after week. And we accepted Christ, and we wound up finding a church and we started going to church. And this was when I was 11 and 12 years old. And I really committed my life when I was 12. And then, eventually, I kind of fell out of that and became less interested in church and got more involved in music and the scene that goes along with that, typically. And as I got a little older — 15, 16, 17 years old — I started drinking and smoking and doing that whole thing. And I walked that path for a while. And when I turned 20 years old, that's when I re-dedicated my life, and my brother did as well. And we devoted the band to God. That was in 1983. And right before we became STRYPER, we all decided to do that together as a band. And it was very cool. It was obviously a life-changing experience and moment in time, and the rest is history. There's been no regrets, no looking back. We made a bold stand for God, and I think the world knows that. And hopefully we've encouraged and inspired some people.

On whether or not the Church was supportive of Stryper...

"[The members of the church] weren't a hundred percent supportive," Sweet acknowledged. "We had some people in the church support us, but most people, no. I think they didn't know what to think of us. They were shocked. They were maybe even a little frightened by what we were doing. Because it was something that really had never been done before; there was no band like STRYPER. When we came on the scene in '84, released our first album and started performing, people from both sides didn't know what to think of us — from the mainstream side to the Christian side. So it was difficult for us to find our place. But we eventually found it. We stayed true to ourselves and stuck to our calling, and everything worked out."

On Kanye West finding God

I think it's amazing, I applaud Kanye, if it's sincere, which it seems to be. I think it's amazing, he's reaching a lot of folks that other people aren't able to reach or haven't been reaching, so it's very cool, it's a light in the dark to see Kayne proclaiming "Christ is King, King of Kings", it's pretty cool. I think it's great.

Listen to the full interview

Stryper - To Hell With The Devil

www.sticksforstones.net

Sort:  

Your post has been curated by the bitcoin myk project. Tokens are available for this account you can trade for steem at: https://steem-engine.com/. Join our curation priority list to earn more tokens by registering at:

http://www.bitcoinmyk.com/register/

Visit our discord at: https://discordapp.com/channels/523971711733858364/523971711733858366

Bitcoin MYK
admin
Register - Bitcoin MYK
This post earned 250 BTCMYK

image.png

Wow thanks so much

This is an interesting interview. I had never heard of Stryper. The music is great, such classic metal feel and interesting to hear a Christian perspective in metal when it is usually such... the opposite :)

@tipu curate

Thank you. He seemed very down to earth, I couldn't make it to the show because I had work but I had some friends that went that told me it was great.

hi dear @sticksforstones, really an interesting one! this bond of the band with god struck me a lot, I can imagine the members of the church that didn't understand what you wanted and maybe they didn't agree. I think you have reason to say that they were scared and accepting music so different from the organ's music must have been a shock. how to think that god wouldn't agree?
anyway I hope your friend is getting better and better, all the best for all of you
congratulations on your work and your curie rating

Thanks very much, appreciate it!

This interview surprised me. It is really very interesting this mix of metal music praising God. It is these times I have seen people doing similar things but I cannot deny that Michael Sweet attracts more people. Blessings ... great post. A cordial greeting @sticksforstones

Thank you. The power of God is amazing

Hi sticksforstones,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hello @sticksforstones, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much

@sticksforstones, Everyone's journey holds Diversified Experiences and these experiences mould their future path and perceptions. Sometimes life brings up great surprises.

When it's come to the point of knowledge of God, in most of the cases it's Generational Gift and by that i mean, parents transfer the knowledge to children but when people grow their experiences can bring up many self realisation aspects.

There will be moments when people learn and inspire by others and that inspiration gives others a different outlook to see and to understand whole new reality.

Have a great time ahead and stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks very much for the comment. God wasn't a generational gift for me, I didn't find God until I was around 28. It's a very profound life altering decision.

Have a great day

Welcome and good to know about your Profound experience. Stay blessed.

Hello Hello!

I didn't know about this person's existence until I read your post and learned many things, excellent information.

Greetings from Venezuela

Thanks very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67